Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-02-2020, 07:13 PM   #1

Battery help

Have a 2007 Jayfeather 17c. Currently have a 12v 24m battery that came with the camper.
I have zero knowledge on batteries, so excuse my lack of understanding.

We dry camp. Looking to power water pump,lights, small fan or small mini heater at the very least. Would love to be able to power coffee maker and microwave.

Our longest trips are usually 5 nights.

What size battery should I be looking for?
Is it possible to get a battery too big for the camper to support?

Thanks for the help!
ashly1319 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2020, 07:52 PM   #2

First, how are you planning on keeping the battery charged while dry camping? Second, to power the coffee pot and microwave you would need an inverter but that one singe battery alone will not last very long under either of the conditions you listed. So start by letting us know how you will keep the battery charged - Solar / generator etc.

2022 33RBTS
Progressive Industries EMS - Hardwired
Equalizer 4 Point WDH
2021 Ford F350 7.3
Air Lift Rear Bags w/ On Board Compressor (Pending)
2016 28BHBE - (Traded and Missed already)
Marcm157 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2020, 05:25 AM   #3

I don't plan on charging. Maybe in the future.
Right now I bring the charged battery and it lasts maybe 2-3 nights with frugal light use and running water pump for a couple quick showers.

I didn't realize I needed an inverter when running off battery as opposed to plugging in. ��

My new thought is a larger battery. Maybe 29DC to run lights and such. Then keep smaller battery inside with an inverter to charge cell phones and maybe run the small 120watt heater for a few minutes on chilly nights.
Coffee maker and microwave are completely unnecessary, just nice when tired ��
Old 06-03-2020, 06:05 AM   #4