Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-23-2016, 09:05 AM   #1

CCC question

This is probably a stupid question, but I'm a newbie and I'm trying to get things straight in my head about cargo carrying capacity. As I mentioned in a previous thread, my wife and I are likely buying an X17z tomorrow. I know the camper has a low cargo carrying capacity, and the reason for this is that they stripped it down somewhat so that a crossover SUV could pull it.

Here's what I'm looking at:

-Towing vehicle: 2015 Nissan Pathfinder, with a towing capacity of 5,000 lbs and a payload capacity of about 1,650 lbs.

-Camper: X17z, which weighs 2,785 lbs and has a cargo carrying capacity of 715 lbs.

Basically, if you add the X17z weight to its CCC, you get 3,600 lbs. If you add the payload capacity of the Pathfinder to that, you get a bit over the Pathfinder's limit of 5,000 lbs.

So ... given that, I should keep an eye on how much gear I put INTO the camper while going to my destination, and put any heavy gear into the Pathfinder. Is that correct?

Maybe it's because I'm a newbie and don't know much about this stuff, but that doesn't seem like it's going to be an issue. For instance, if we take a cooler that's filled with ice and drinks, that should go into the Pathfinder. I suspect the only things we'll have in the camper will be bedding, cooking gear, some dry food, extra emergency clothes, and maybe some play stuff for the kids (soccer ball, scooters, etc.) I don't see us doing much dry camping, so we won't need to fill the water tank on the camper.

Am I reading this all correctly?
SteveMM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2016, 09:12 AM   #2
Site Team

The figures quoted by rv manufacturers are computed guidelines. The real test will be to weigh it road ready at a scale.