Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-14-2015, 06:42 AM   #1

dewinterizing

Ok this is my first time having to dewinterize my x17z. I am at a total loss and afraid to do anything! Anyone have step by step directions or want to post a video to help? I have searched youtube for something and can't find anything. We have a trip coming up and I wanted to get this done this weekend so I am all set to go. Please help me!!!
skichikk18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2015, 07:10 AM   #2

Dewinterizing is much easier that winterizing. Most people dewinterize on their first trip of the season at a CG with full hookups but you can do it anywhere if you have can dump your grey tank soon afterward.

Start by hooking up to a city water connection (you can also use the FW tank and pump but it's easier using the cit water connection). Starting at the faucet closest to the water inlet (kitchen for me), open the faucet and let the water run until the pink water turns clear. I usually start with the hot side then do the cold side but it doesn't matter...you are just using water pressure to displace the antifreeze in the lines.
Move to the next faucet, shower head, toilet toilet or whatever has a valve next and repeat the process until the water runs clear at each. I go an extra step and open the low point drains and flush them too but I doubt some people go that far.

Once you have purged all the water points, shut the city water off and don't forget to open your bypass valves to the hot water heater. You can install the hot water heat drain plug and fill it if you are ready to use it or you can skip it and wait until you are ready to camp.

Dewinterizing shouldn't take long ang you might use several gallons of water that will need to be dumped at some point. It's an easy process...don't sweat it!
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote