Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-02-2017, 11:42 PM   #1

Generator help?!?!.. yea im a newbie :(

I just picked up a 2017 X19H. It's a 30amp couch. I've never owned a TT before and need help picking out a generator. Our family will mostly be dry camping while we use the TT for hunting and dirt bike ridding on 3-5 day trips. I mostly want a generator to recharge the battery when it goes low and to run the TV for movie time for the kids. I will not be using the A/C unit. Couple questions.

1- What is an invertor? I see Generator/Invertor? what is this?
2- What size generator will charge my TT battery and let me turn on the TV for movies.

Any suggestions on generators? I don't want to spend an arm and leg. I see Honda and Yamaha have 2000 watt generators for nearly $1000.00. Will this do the trick and are there any other cheaper reliable models?

KG-Pacific North West.
Kygreen10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 12:05 AM   #2

Champion makes a good generator and half the cost of a Honda or Yamaha. A 2000 watt will do everything you described. I would suggest an inverter/generator with an economy mode. Will run quieter when power demand is low. Inverter technology will also give you "cleaner" power.
cariboocreek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 02:31 AM   #3

What's "cleaner" power?
Kygreen10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2017, 06:02 AM   #4

Inverter styles do clean power. What we are talking about is if you hook a generator up to an oscilloscope to see the wave. It should look like a smooth wave. The inverter is there basically cleaning up the power. Here is an image. The smooth wave is the output from an inverter. The jagged wave is the conventional.