Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-08-2020, 03:57 PM   #1

Looking at a 2013 X17Z (newbie questions, first RV)

Hi there, we are going to look at a 2013 Jayco X17Z for our first RV. Asking price is $6000. Says "Loaded and in excellent condition". We like the small size and weight. I am handy with cars, and 10+ years ago had a boat (small cruiser) with some of the same amenities (water tanks, bath, AC power), but I am not experienced with RVs
- yet! Questions:

Is this a good / quality RV?

Are there known issues with this model?

What should I look for?

What questions should I ask the seller?

Do issues creep up at this age? What issues would I expect to encounter as it ages further in the next few years? (i.e., is this too old, should we spend a little more on a newer one?)

Is this a good price?

I have a honda pilot rated at 4500lbs.

Thank you for sharing your knowledge and time!
psonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2020, 05:17 PM   #2

The only advice I can give is look for any signs of water wavy panels discolored panels ect. Water Is enemy number one.
Old 03-08-2020, 05:39 PM   #3

Check along the top of the tent ends where it connects to the trailer. They can leak there. Trailer gross weight is 3500 lbs and tongue weight is 405 lbs. You will need a brake controller and 7 pin connector. Just remember that the cargo and passengers will reduce your vehicle’s tow rating too
Old 03-08-2020, 08:28 PM   #4