Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Go Back   Jayco RV Owners Forum > Trailers, 5th Wheels, and Motorhomes > Jayco Hybrids
Click Here to Login

Old 11-05-2013, 12:06 AM   #1

Smile Newbie here :) Chilly nights, do you use the furnace or electric heater

Hi ladies and gents!

We just purchased our 2014 X17Z about 2 months ago and so far...loving it! We have had her out twice this season (bought late in the season unfortunately). We went camping few weeks ago and we ran the furnace even though we had an electric site. We didn't at that time have an electric heater and thought that might be high on the "I need" list of things to buy. What do you prefer to run on a chilly night, the furnace or an electric heater. If electric heater, what make/model do you recommend. Did you do a custom install (under the dinette etc..). Naturally I would like to take advantage of the electric site vs. blowing out all my propane My wife is also demanding that we get some electric mattress pads LOL

Also, I noticed the thermostat was very inaccurate and I had a hard time finding the right temp. Is there a thermostat you recommend. I believe with the x17z there is only a "heat only" option on the stock thermostat, so the question is can the AC run off a after market thermostat too or should I be looking for a "heat only" type.

Last question, I don't believe the 17Z has an enclosed belly, so is it possible to camp late into the fall (live in Ontario) without risking freezing the pipes.

Thanks again! Really enjoying reading this forum!

Paul
silcoservices is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2013, 12:53 AM   #2

We have an electric heater, small ceramic type, worked excellent in out 18' toyhauler. Now have a 30' White Hawk and small electric heater does good during the day but not during the night.