Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-16-2014, 04:43 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Conway
Posts: 13
TV Antenna input - help

I finally figured out how to get the DVD player to work with my TV (pulled the unit out and ran the A/V cables to the rear of the unit), but I cannot get the roof antenna to feed to the TV. It LOOKS like it's hooked up, but hard to tell. I turn the booster button on but my TV still says no signal on all input sources.

Anyone have any suggestions before I haul this puppy back to the dealer and ask for help? I'm going camping for a full week with four kids - I'm going to need TV.

Thanks in advance!
__________________

bblbethie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:03 PM   #2
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,046
Make sure you have the input set for air not cable and rescan.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:06 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Conway
Posts: 13
Thanks - tried that already and it didn't work - still get NO SIGNAL. Ugh.
bblbethie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
Hello and welcome!

What year and model Travel Trailer do you have? Is the antenna fully raised and have you tried rotating the antenna in different directions?
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:19 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Conway
Posts: 13
I have an X23B that I just brought home last week. They installed the TV at the dealer (it was supposed to come with - they 'forgot' to order it). The TV has the following input options: TV, AV, HDMI, PC, and YPbPr.
bblbethie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 05:54 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 7
The new digital broadcast signals are very directional. There are several web sites that can show you which direction you will need to point your antenna. Antenna.com is one, or Google digital tv direction and others will come up. Most of the stations use the UHF frequency range, it's not suposed to be line of site, but if you are down in a valley, good luck. Hight is your friend with the new digital broadcast system.

Good luck
johnpage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:01 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Big Sky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Clinton, MT
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by bblbethie View Post
The TV has the following input options: TV, AV, HDMI, PC, and YPbPr.
What cable(s) are you using to connect your DVD player to the TV? The most simplistic is the HDMI, but it doesn't really matter.
__________________

2007 Jayco Jay Flight 26BHS
2005 GMC YukonXL Denali
4 6-volt batteries - 440 AH bank
Magnum Energy MSH-3012 Tri Metric 2025
Yamaha EF3000iSEB generator
Winegard Traveler DirecTV slimline HD SK-3005
Big Sky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 06:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
nevercominhome's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Elkin
Posts: 3,870
Are you running the antenna directly to the TV or through the DVD player?
__________________
'12 Jay Flight 28BHS
'02 F250 Crew Cab 7.3 Powerstroke

nevercominhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:00 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Ottawa Valley
Posts: 330
Did you use the channel search to set up the tv?
__________________
Married To The Navigator
2005 Red GMC Duramax 4X4 HD Crew Cab
2012 321RLTS
4" Magnaflow, Banks Air Intake
Firestone Ride Rite Air Springs
DMRGMC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2014, 07:30 PM   #10
Site Team
 
FPM III's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Fayette Ridges of PA, USA
Posts: 2,302
Are you able to receive broadcast (air) TV signals on any other television(s) that are near to your RV (like in your home)? If you can't, then you could simply be out of range. Assuming this is a Winegard amplifier, the connection will be a coaxial wire from the antenna amplifier to the TV's antenna input. Like a PP said, the input should be set to TV and "air". If there is only one coaxial connection on your DVD player, that's an output and if you have the output from the antenna amplifier connected to it, it's wrong- connect it to the TV antenna input instead.

Sorry to say, but you might do all this work and find out you're too far away to receive a TV signal from where you're camping anyway; especially if you're out in the "boonies". I've been at a number of campgrounds where I could not pull-in a signal, even with an amplifier.
__________________

__________________
MODERATOR
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search

TV: 2009 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Crew Cab | Std. Box | 4WD | Duramax/Allison
RV: 2000 Jayco Eagle 266 | FBS | TT -- 1986 Coleman Laramie pop-up -- Still in the family!!!
FPM III is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.