Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-30-2019, 07:35 AM   #1

Water system & heater Care

I am new to having a water heater, and plumbing. I just returned from my 1st trip with our 23B. We were hooked up to city water all weekend with a filter and regulator. When I left camp I opened the low point drain for the ride home. Do you need to drain the water heater during the season in between trips, or anything else that needs to be done after a trip? We will go maybe once a month.

1996 Jayco 1007 (sold)

2016 Jayco X23B
Krazyboutcampin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 07:55 AM   #2
Site Team

It’s a personal preference decision. If I’m not camping for a month, I’ll drain it. Most of the time I don’t.
Hughes PWD SP-50A, TST TPMS
Gator roll-up bed cover
B&W Turnover ball, Companion Std hitch
Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2019, 08:01 AM   #3

Some here have complained of an odor coming from water that sits in the water heater for a month or more. I have not had that problem. If you search water heaters, I'm sure you will find several threads on the topic. If you look to drain it, just remove the nylon plug. I also open the relief valve towards the top of the tank to speed up the draining process. Just be sure to close the valve when your done.

You'll see that some use vinegar or baking soda to remove odors. Others will install an anode rod or just buy a wand to get in through the drain plug area to thoroughly flush the tank. I pulled the relief valve off and forced garden hose pressure through the relief valve area while it drained below. The wand would be a better option.

Jerry B.
"Stateboy" (Formerly "36fire412")
SW Lower Michigan
2016 X254
2012 Toyota Tundra Crewmax TRD 4x4
stateboy is offline   Reply With Quote