Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-22-2017, 09:35 AM   #1

Water Tank Sensors

I just know someone on here can help me. I just setup my "new to me" 2012 X23B, got it all de-winterized. During the flush and sanitizing process I noticed that on all 3 tanks the sensors readings are not working. When you push the monitor button all 4 lights (Empty, 1/3, 1/2, and full) flash and then the empty stays on even though I know the tank is full.

The odds that all 9 sensors are bad at the same time seams to be pretty slim. I was an electrician on F-4 jets in the navy so I can do a little bit of work. Does anyone know what the voltage readings should be? Is there a schematic available? I am guessing a power wire or ground wire is loose or corroded. It would be nice to have a starting point.

This site has been so helpful with my other questions I am hoping to get some help again.

Thanks
Ernie85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 10:59 AM   #2
Site Team

I'm not sure of the voltage spec, but when I have a problem, I crawl underneath first, and check the wires attached to the sensors. I've found a couple broken off, since they don't secure them well at the factory. Ours just dangled in the wind. They're the gauge of telephone wire, so it doesn't take much to break them off. You can check the sensors by using a different wire and connect one end to ground, and touch the other end to the sensor connections one at a time. Have a helper watch the lights to see if they work. The higher up the tank.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)
2 new fluffy Corgis, Bayley and Stanley
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2017, 06:06 PM   #3