Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-02-2022, 03:16 PM   #1

X23B batteries

Hi all,
I am new to the RV world.
I purchased an x23b new in 2021. I am not currently using the trailer, and have been monitoring the batteries (i have 2 81ah deep cycle batteries in parallel).
On each sunny day, my solar panel is providing what I consider to be a lot of power to the batteries. After a cloudy day, it will provide about 35ah. This is without shore power, and nothing operational in the rig.
I plugged in shore power this past Friday, and we have had very cloudy days. My batteries are reading fairly low -about 70pct according to a voltage chart I found online.
I know shore power is operational. I have fridge and power at the outlets.
How can I tell if my converter is charging the batteries while plugged in? I have a gut feeling it ISNT.
And, where would the converter even be in this TT?
Thanks for any and all responses in advance!
Jerry
Jerrypd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 06:51 PM   #2

What battery maintenance have you done?

Wet cell batteries need to have the fluid topped off periodically. If you need to add water, only add DISTILLED water, nothing else. Any other water will shorten the battery life.

Fill to the bottom edge of the plastic.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2022, 07:11 PM   #3

That makes sense.
I have only had the trailer for a year.
I have not checked the wet level.
Would that account for what I am seeing?
Old 10-02-2022, 07:19 PM   #4

There is almost 100% that you have a battery charger built into your RV. You may also have a unit that converts 12 volts in AC to run some things like microwave, tv, etc. when off shore power.