Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-17-2016, 02:49 PM   #1

1st Time Winterizing

This is my first time winterizing and just want to make sure I am doing it right.
We have a new 23 MBH, it took me 30 minutes to find the water pump. lol.

First thing I did was drain the water heater.
Next I bypassed the water heater with the valves.

Once I found the water pump, I found the hose that goes into the RV antifreeze bottle. I thought all I had to do was turn the valve on that hose to get it to work. However, it did not work until I turned the other valve on the water pump too.

I made sure all low point drains were closed outside.

I opened hot/cold side of kitchen sink until I saw pink coming out.
I opened hot/cold side of bathroom sink until I saw pink coming out.
I opened hot/cold side of shower until I saw pink coming out.
I flushed toilet until I saw pink.

I then wiped up all the excess pink so it wouldn't stain.

I opened gray tank a sec and saw pink coming out, same with black tank.

I opened the two low point drains by the door, but nothing came out of them. Is there suppose to be some pink coming out of them?

I thought I read something about the fresh water inlet valve needing something done to it. I didn't see that in owners manual. What needs to be done with it?

I didn't put any antifreeze in my fresh water tank, do I need to do that? Maybe thats why there was nothing coming out of the two low point drains by the door.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.......nervous I missed something!
podunker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2016, 03:03 PM   #2
BCK

Outside Shower?
BCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2016, 03:06 PM   #3

There is a good and very comprehensive section in your owners manual on winterizing. I'd read that and follow the very clear step by step instructions.
Ford 2016 F150 Lariat, 3.5L V6 Ecoboost