Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2019, 12:14 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Bayoutalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Highlands
Posts: 654
50A Power Cord

I just noticed one of the lights on my 50A plug is not working. Everything in the trailer appears to be working though. I had the campground check the plug and breaker and they found no problem. They changed both anyway and still the light is off. I guess the bulb must be out. Is there a way to replace it other than buying a new cord?
__________________
Cliff

Jayflight 34RSBS
Bayoutalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 12:34 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Camper_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 7,216
I had that happen to the one on my trailer. It was a Furion.

I did the same thing you did. When I plugged in to shore power at the park, one of the lights was out. I broke out my DVOM and took readings, but I couldn't get them to be consistent. So I called the park office, they sent out a guy, he took readings and said all was well, but changed the breakers anyway just in case. I plugged my cord into a known good outlet and still the one side's light was out. I chalked it up to a defective LED and moved on.

I sold that cord with the trailer having never had an issue with it.

I'd say take voltage readings to make sure, but don't worry about the little LED.
__________________

-2018 Greyhawk 29MV
-2020 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JLU) (Primary Toad)
-1994 Jeep Wrangler YJ (Secondary Toad)
-2014 Jay Flight 28BHBE & Ram 2500 6.4L CC 4x4 (sold)
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 12:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Bayoutalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Highlands
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper_bob View Post
I had that happen to the one on my trailer. It was a Furion.

I did the same thing you did. When I plugged in to shore power at the park, one of the lights was out. I broke out my DVOM and took readings, but I couldn't get them to be consistent. So I called the park office, they sent out a guy, he took readings and said all was well, but changed the breakers anyway just in case. I plugged my cord into a known good outlet and still the one side's light was out. I chalked it up to a defective LED and moved on.

I sold that cord with the trailer having never had an issue with it.

I'd say take voltage readings to make sure, but don't worry about the little LED.
I figured as much as everything is working in the trailer. I was just wondering if there was a way to change the bulb. I got a call in to Jayco tech to see what they say. I don't guess it matters but I like things to work if possible.
__________________
Cliff

Jayflight 34RSBS
Bayoutalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 12:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 341
Our 1 light on the 50A cord went out years ago. Solved the problem. Bought a new Jayco and it came with a new cord! LOL Bonus - it's about 5 feet longer than the old cord.
__________________
Dave and Ivy

2020 North Point 315RLTS
Ram 3500/Aisin CC, SB, SRW, Superglide
Firestone Ride-Rite Air bags, TST507 TPMS
DrSmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 01:11 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Bayoutalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Highlands
Posts: 654
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrSmart View Post
Our 1 light on the 50A cord went out years ago. Solved the problem. Bought a new Jayco and it came with a new cord! LOL Bonus - it's about 5 feet longer than the old cord.
That would fix it alright but it's not in the cards at this time. Maybe in a year or so.
__________________
Cliff

Jayflight 34RSBS
Bayoutalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 01:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Hamilton
Posts: 341
It helps to have a sense of humor if you own an RV!
__________________
Dave and Ivy

2020 North Point 315RLTS
Ram 3500/Aisin CC, SB, SRW, Superglide
Firestone Ride-Rite Air bags, TST507 TPMS
DrSmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2019, 01:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Camper_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 7,216
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bayoutalker View Post
I figured as much as everything is working in the trailer. I was just wondering if there was a way to change the bulb. I got a call in to Jayco tech to see what they say. I don't guess it matters but I like things to work if possible.
Ya, it kind of annoyed me that it didn't work, as I like things to work as well. But at the end of the day, it worked where it mattered, so I didn't worry about the little light.
__________________

-2018 Greyhawk 29MV
-2020 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JLU) (Primary Toad)
-1994 Jeep Wrangler YJ (Secondary Toad)
-2014 Jay Flight 28BHBE & Ram 2500 6.4L CC 4x4 (sold)
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.