Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-05-2021, 11:54 AM   #1

Electrical Outlet Issue

Hi all, I am new to this form but have an issue with my 2001 Jayco Eagle 296 trailer.

The electrical is working except starting with my TV electrical outlet going towards the master bedroom five of the outlets do not work including one of the lights in the bathroom. Has anyone experienced this and would anyone be able to give me any guidance or tips. The one thing I must add is that I unplugged the stereo and it appears that it is possible around the same time that we had electrical issues. Does it seem to be that maybe the wiring is in a series? If so would I be wise to try bypassing the stereo completely?

Any guidance would be most appreciated.

Thank you,

Gary
garyprimrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2021, 12:47 PM   #2

I assume you reset all circuit breakers as this would be the first and easiest thing to try.

Nothing will be wired in series but they will be daisy chained meaning they will be wired in parallel with one outlet feeding the next. A loose wiring connection at an outlet can affect all other outlets in the string.

The typical wiring of electrical outlets - circuit breaker will feed the first outlet which most likely will be the closest one to the breaker panel. This outlet will be fed 120 volts from the breaker (black wire) plus the common (white wire). An additional black and white wire will connect to the first outlet and feed to the next outlet in the chain. An open in either the hot (black) feed or the common (white) feed will kill the outlet(s).