Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-06-2015, 01:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tucson
Posts: 316
Electrical woes!

DH is in the trailer, on the phone with the dealer as I type. We brought the trailer home on Monday, had dinner in her - using the microwave - that night, and have before-dinner drinks in her the last two nights as well. We're in Tucson, so we were using the air co, and everything worked.

We took our circuit tester with us when we did the PDI, and everything was just fine then, but now the 'fridge will not work except on gas. When we checked the circuits, the one that serves the 'fridge wouldn't stay on, but now it will, but the 'fridge is still not working except on gas - and now the air conditioning won't work either, and neither will the microwave.

The lights work; the stereo works, and this morning, at least, the awning worked. I left DH flipping switches at the dealer's instructions, so maybe all is well now, but .... We are supposed to go camping with friends on the 12th or 13th, through the weekend, and it's dry camping, so everything will be on gas anyhow, but early next month we're off on a trip that will involve many KOAs, and we need our electrics!

We also (ahem) need the sewer hose and the pots and pans we left in the trade-in. Duuh! Luckily, we can pick them up when we go back to get the over-the-stove cutting board we ordered, which is in. Maybe we'll even be able to get the 'fridge working on AC before the first trip, so we're not using propane on the way.

Other than that, we love the trailer - 2016 White Hawk 23MRB. It's roomy and comfortable and ever so much easier than the pop-up!
__________________

Jim-n-Ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
JFlightRisk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Newark
Posts: 1,181
What you're describing that does work, is all 12 volt. What's not working is all 110 volt. Must be a problem with that part of the electrics, or power into the TT.
__________________

__________________
2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab
1 Spoiled Dog
JFlightRisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:08 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by JFlightRisk View Post
What you're describing that does work, is all 12 volt. What's not working is all 110 volt. Must be a problem with that part of the electrics, or power into the TT.
I assume your plugged in at home? Have you checked the circuit breaker where your plugged into? It may as simple as your on a 20 amp circuit and just overloaded it and tripped the breaker.

Good Luck...
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:13 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
Did you check the circuit at the house? Running AC and micro is an overload to any 20A plug. If you have a dedicated 30A RV outlet then if you run the AC, Micro and electric hot water I would see that tripping the breaker.

Agree that everything mentioned as working is 12V run. I am sure the dealer will run through a breaker check list with you.
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:14 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tucson
Posts: 316
The dealer's repair guy concluded that it's the GCFI that's wonky, and it needs replaced. We don't know how long it'll take, or when they can do it, but they'll call us back in a little while. He reassured us that the 'fridge is not using very much propane. (I am more or less paranoid about running out of battery and/or propane.)

We're still figuring out the storage configuration, and DH has decided that the new trailer's so nice we need a couple of things new 'cause the old ones, while still serviceable, are too ratty-looking. :-)
Jim-n-Ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:15 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Tucson
Posts: 316
We do have a 30 amp/120 volt outlet - had it specially installed for the trailer. Can't remember if the air co and the microwave were on at the same time, but yeah, we should remember not to do that! We are not hooked up to water right now, though, so at least that's not in the mix.
Jim-n-Ash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:19 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
Unless you have a gen you will have to run the Fridge on propane when traveling
__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:24 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,837
Take it from a boondocker: be much more worried of running out of battery than propane.


1) While your 110VAC system is out, you can plug the trailer into the tow and idle the engine for 1/2 to 2 hours to keep the battery topped up. Or just hook up a regular battery charger to the battery and unplug the trailer's 110 cord until repairs are made.


2) 30 pounds of propane is a whole lot of fuel! Equivalent to around 7 gallons of gasoline. And you've got 2 of 'em. You can run the fridge for a couple of weeks on what's sitting on your trailer's tongue. Check the changeover valve once per day and refill the empty when the valve show's red. I'd put money on the trailer will be fixed before you use 1 can of gas.


Follow Douglas Adam's advice, "Don't Panic"
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 02:28 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,505
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim-n-Ash View Post
The dealer's repair guy concluded that it's the GCFI that's wonky, and it needs replaced. We don't know how long it'll take, or when they can do it, but they'll call us back in a little while. He reassured us that the 'fridge is not using very much propane. (I am more or less paranoid about running out of battery and/or propane.)

We're still figuring out the storage configuration, and DH has decided that the new trailer's so nice we need a couple of things new 'cause the old ones, while still serviceable, are too ratty-looking. :-)
To change a GCFi is about a 10 minute job... propane for a frig will last a long long time. Two items that will use propane are furnace and hot water heater, other items will last a very long time.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 03:41 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,114
when I started reading the thread I though the GFI might have tripped. GFIs are know to do this, and the frig is a sub circuit that runs through the bathroom GFI. Hit the test button and reset it. If it will not reset then the GFI is bad or it is sensing a hazard.

as for the propane for the frig, do not worry about it. We go a whole season (~40 nights) on a single 20 pound tank and we run on propane going to and from all campouts, and sometimes even at camp.
__________________

Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.