Free 7 Day Trial RV GPS App RV Trip Planner Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 11-23-2021, 04:50 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Michael Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: MANHATTAN
Posts: 3
Greyhawk GFCI Breaker issue

Hello, I recently purchased a 2020 Greyhawk and have run into my first issue requiring guidance from this forum.

On our last outing I discovered all outlets associated with shore or generator power ceased to provide power. This would include one outlet in the bedroom, the bathroom outlet, the dining room outlet and the pop-up tower outlet on the kitchen counter top.

My investigation found a Murray MP-GT2 GFCI breaker in the fuse box was tripped. Upon trying to reset the switch I found it would kick off as soon as I pushed it to ON. I ordered a new switch (2 actually, one to have as a spare part) and installed it. I still get no power at the outlets but the breaker does not kick off any longer, so I feel pretty comfortable the switch needed to be replaced as a piece of the bigger puzzle.

When I check voltage on the other breakers in the box I find they all read 120.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/a...1&d=1637707041

All of the connections at the neutral bar reads .168.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/a...1&d=1637707041

The White wire from the GFCI breaker reads .166.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/a...1&d=1637707041

The reading from the Black wire is .355.
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/a...1&d=1637707041

I get the same readings from both new circuit breakers.
I screwed all the wires in tightly and in the same manner I took them off the old circuit breaker which worked for a few months.

Any guidance you can give me will be greatly appreciated.
Attached Thumbnails
thumbnail-5.jpg   thumbnail-4.jpg   thumbnail-1.jpg   thumbnail.jpg  
Michael Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 05:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 513
Since you know how to use a meter, I'd start at
the source and trace back to where you lose power.
In my experience breakers rarely go bad, now gfics are an exception.
Is the main tripped? Do you have 50 amp, you may have lost one of the legs.
Do other 120v outlets have power?

PaulB12
PaulB12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2021, 06:25 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Michael Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: MANHATTAN
Posts: 3
Thanks for replying PaulB.
My motorhome is a class C 30 amp with 4000 generator.
I am getting power to other outlets and appliances (i.e. Refer, microwave) so I know the main (nor any of the other breakers) are tripped.
I believe the only outlets I am not getting power to are associated with the GFCI because they are near a sink or on the back wall of the bathroom.
In following the current, I get stopped at the circuit breaker because I have power running in from the neutral bar but nothing going through. I triple checked my connections to insure everything was tight and secure. I even cut the ends off and striped back the coating on the wire to expose newer unscratched or flattened wire before I screwed it into place on the breaker switch, neutral bar and ground bar.
I'm perplexed!
Michael Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2021, 04:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Morehead City
Posts: 296
You need to start at the outside receptacle and disconnect it and each receptacle on the line. Probably have a bad receptacle somewhere. The ones outside are prone to corrosion and shorting out.
__________________
2016 Jayco Precept 31 UL
Parrott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2021, 05:01 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2021
Location: Morehead City
Posts: 296
Looking at your pictures, do you have 120 from the neutral to the black wire when the breaker is plugged in?
__________________
2016 Jayco Precept 31 UL
Parrott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:17 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Michael Q's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2021
Location: MANHATTAN
Posts: 3
No I have .355
Michael Q is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:13 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Daytona Beach
Posts: 513
Ok, I call bad breaker....
Take a known good breaker from your panel and attach wires to it from the bad(?) breaker. Tell use what you read. If the same I'd suspect a bad hot post on your panel.
PaulB12
PaulB12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Gilmer, Texas
Posts: 961
I must be blind , where do you have the black lead of meter ? On the neutral bus or the gnd bus ?
__________________
S.A.Young
2011 321RLTS
2012 Chevy duramax dually
poohbear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:49 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Vicr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: In the coach
Posts: 1,552
You aren't troubleshooting properly. You must have the breaker connected to the bus bar (installed) and the breaker closed (on) to start troubleshooting.
Vicr is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.