Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-23-2019, 06:46 PM   #1

Roof cleaning and treating

Newbie here. I bought my first trailer over the winter-Jayco Octane SL 209 toyhauler. The roof is a little dirty. I don't even know what it is made of-possiblr rubber? What is the best way to clean it? Should I use any type of soap? Should I coat it with anything?
mattf301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 07:36 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattf301 View Post
Newbie here. I bought my first trailer over the winter-Jayco Octane SL 209 toyhauler. The roof is a little dirty. I don't even know what it is made of-possiblr rubber? What is the best way to clean it? Should I use any type of soap? Should I coat it with anything?
You're going to get lots of opinions on this topic...

I believe you have a rubber roof. Some folks say to leave it alone and let the dirt act as a barrier/protectant to the roof. I am not one of those people. I like a clean rig.

Some will suggest scrubbing the roof using murphy oil soap or some other type of mild soap. I use a pressure washer, with the gentle tip.

Coating is another debate. Some use rubber roof protectant, some use 303 Aerospace, some do nothing. I haven't protected my roof with anything, though I may start using something (probably 303...more to help keep it cleaner, longer than anything else). Just make sure to periodically check all the sealant around all the penetrations and vents, as well as the front and rear caps. Making sure you have good seals will do more than adding some type of protectant spray onto the roof.

Magnolia Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2019, 07:40 PM   #3