Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-30-2012, 01:51 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Thermostat Problems or Furnace?

We just purchased a used 2006 Jayco JayFeather 29N with a Coleman Mach thermostat and tested everything in our driveway. Heat kicked on with slide out and life was good. Pulled it to hunting camp and couldn't make heat kick on but figured it wasn't cold enough. Left it on 55 and returned with wifey four days later with outside temp around 40.

Long story short, bedroom full of water (front storage door leaked) and trailer with no heat. Played with thermostat and finally tried to remove it from wall. On third tried it came out 1/8" and something inside popped. Heat came on.

Left it on 55 and came down two days later. Heater is kicking on, running for 10 minutes, kicking off for 5, then repeating continuously.

Last night bumped heat up to 75 and went to bed. Woke up at midnight with outside temp around 35, inside temp around 40, heater would not kick on. Went and moved switches on thermostat and finally pushed in on one switch and blower came on. No hot air, just blows for a couple of minutes and cuts off, then repeats. I swapped tanks and same thing. Then it completely quit working. Took it off the wall and finally heat kicked on. After an hour I got heat. Same thing 10 min on, 5 min off. Never got above 65 although set for around 75.

Is this thermostat, furnace, or both? Obviously wifey not happy, so any guidance would be appreciated!
__________________

Jester65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 02:54 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Could be either.
This is what I would do.
1. Check thermostat. There should only be 2 wires coming into thermostat. Twist those wires together and see if furnance operates but doesn't shut off.
If it works and keeps running, thermostat is bad.
2. It could also be a safety thermocouple in the furnance.
There is probably a thermocouple (thick looking wire) inserted into flame.
When the flame comes on, this gets hot and lets the control circuit knows that the gas lit.
If it has a break inside, the circuit thinks the gas didn't light and shuts off gas safety valve and furnance goes out.

3. If #1 solves your problem, check that the wires were tight and didn't have a break from vibration before replacing thermostat.

Heres a diagram of the 2 wire heat only circuit.

Best regards,
Doug
Attached Thumbnails
Thermostat-basic-2-wire-control.jpg  
__________________

__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Thermostat Problems or Furnace?

Wish there were only two!

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1356907132.677516.jpg
Views:	27
Size:	16.3 KB
ID:	5984

Would it still be the two colors you suggested?
Jester65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Click image for larger version

Name:	thermostat.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	5986Jester,
I would say yes. I googled some more color codes.
Looks like it should be a red wire attached to a spot marked RH and the white wire.

The fact that the furnace is coming on and kicking off makes me think it is more likely the thermocouple (flame sensor) that tells the control system you have a flame.

So, you get a flame, it burns for 5-10 minutes and then kicks off?

I am assuming you have an electronic ignition and not a pilot light?

Make sure the thermocouple wire in locted so when the flame is on, the thermocouple is in the flame.




If there is corrosion on the thermocouple, you might try cleaning it.

otherwise, the best thing would be to take the TC out and check continuity. That will tell you if its bad.

or

Just replace the thermocouple and see if that fixes it. Shouldn't be more than $10

Here's a color code for mulitiple wires.

You have a fancier system than mine lol

Best regards,
Doug

Click image for larger version

Name:	basic-thermastat-color-codes.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	63.0 KB
ID:	5985

Click image for larger version

Name:	thermostat.jpg
Views:	18
Size:	55.2 KB
ID:	5986
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:18 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Watch this video on the elctronic thermocouple. Corrosion can be removed with emery cloth etc.



I believe this may be your problem.

Best regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:38 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Thermostat Problems or Furnace?

Thanks so much for the info! I'll let you know tomorrow if it works!
Jester65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 05:40 PM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Cool beans, I hope you get it fixed and it's a simple one.

Best regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 06:02 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 17
Thermostat Problems or Furnace?

Well, went down and tried to find a TC today with no luck. Took panels off inside and outside and couldn't come up with anything that remotely resembled the video.

On the positive side, tried to turn on heat with thermostat and all I could get was a buzzing and crackling out of the board. Cut the red and white wires and twisted together and heat kicked right on. Didn't leave it on long enough to see if it did the 10 min, 5 min, 10 min. routine but at least it kicked on immediately. Will find out this weekend if the TC may be involved.

Didn't realize those thermostats were all soldered, thought some would have screw terminals.

Thanks for the help!
Jester65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-31-2012, 07:07 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Doug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cincinnati, Ohio
Posts: 4,762
Good to hear you made some progress.
Yep, you would think it would be screw terminals.
You should be able to replace with a common thermostat from Home Depot or Lowes.
Just connect the wires the same and you should be good.

Hopefully a new thermostat does it and you don't have to worry about the TC.

I am realy surprised the TC wasn't easy to find. Has to be in the flame somewhere.
Keep us posted on the final fix.

Best regards,
Doug
__________________

Southwest, Ohio
2016 Toyota Tundra SR5, 5.7 V8
2017 Jayco 24RBS
Doug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 05:25 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jester65 View Post
.

Didn't realize those thermostats were all soldered, thought some would have screw terminals.

Thanks for the help!
If you remove the thermostat from the wall you will find all the wires connected by wire nuts. You might just have a loose wire in the wall.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.