Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-12-2013, 09:46 PM   #1

Water seeping in at mid section of slide out.

Hi everyone, my parents donated a Jayco Jayfeather Ultra Lite 29N, to me as it had rodent infestation and said if I wanted to deal with it, it was all mine.

We got that all sorted... 3 dead mice and a mouse nest in the furnace/ducting, and a squirrel nest in the inverter box, and under the couch, tore the electrical system and heating system apart, repaired any damage and put it all back together ... what a job...
I am new to trave trailers, but I repair aircraft for a living so none of these systems are new to me, the slide out thing has me puzzled though, we pulled all the upholstry out to clean it, and under the couch in the slide out there was what looked looked like water spots, and a small wet spot dead centre at the bottom of the slide. It had rained the night before, now today it was pouring all night and day and the spot was a fair size, the thing is its not near any location that should be getting wet, the wall is dry and theres no visible signs of entry, its dry under the slide out inside the trailer as well, the seal at the top shows day light, but the lip of it is fairly high, could the water actually be tracking off the top of the slide, down the sides and down into the middle of the slide? It should be noted that the RV is not level side to side and that angle right now has the left side a little higher than the right side, the slide is on the left, could this really cause water to enter the unit like this?

Thanks for any info.
samus989 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2013, 05:58 AM   #2

As nobody has answered...