Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2015, 10:23 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 18
2015 Seneca Inverter Question

Hey Folks

Does the inverter power the ground fault circuit? Mine does not. Just need to be sure before I take it yo the shop

Thanks!
Raymoe
__________________

raymoe3641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 05:26 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,046
No. Only micro & TVs.
__________________

__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 10:14 AM   #3
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 238
While we are on the subject, does your stock inverter have a charging module?
Is there a stock converter?
As to both the converter and the charging inverter module, if there is one, how many phases or steps to they have?

My assumption is they are the basic junk converters and inverters than get the Seneca out the mfg door and they have to be upgraded.
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 11:26 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by RodgerS View Post
While we are on the subject, does your stock inverter have a charging module?
Is there a stock converter?
As to both the converter and the charging inverter module, if there is one, how many phases or steps to they have?

My assumption is they are the basic junk converters and inverters than get the Seneca out the mfg door and they have to be upgraded.
Actually, unless they've made "major" changes which I doubt the SENECAs come with the Xantrex Pro-sine 1800 Inverter and the Progressive Dynamics 9200 converter/charger or the 4500 Power center with converter charger and they both have the built in charge wizard. They SENECA also has the circuitry to charge the chassis batteries when on shore power.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 11:59 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 18
Thanks folks! I wish there was a way to power both circuits. The outside tv is powered by the ground fault circuit. Sucks when your boondocking and the weather is nice enough to shut the generator down for a bit! The outlet OVER the sink is too, which is odd. I realize something plugged in could be knocked into the sink but this area stays covered most of the time unlike the vanity sink. I read that inverters don't like some GFCI's and maybe Jayco used those.
raymoe3641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 12:06 PM   #6
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 238
Ray, I'm confused. Basically, GFCIs themselves are not problematical and inverters have no personal feelings. When the GFCIs trip it is for a reason.

So, are you saying that circuit the tv is on and the sink is on is powered only by the generator or shore power? And that circuit receives no power from the inverter?

Seems like a simple rewiring issue, as long as the inverter is good enough and your batteries are sufficient and be sure to be able to isolate your alternative power sources from each other. I would be thinking along the lines of solar, better and more batteries, etc.

There are tvs that are powered by 12vdc.

My guess is that if your focus is on dry camping, you really need to get deeper into all the changes you need to make that work better. I don't believe for a moment that the Seneca was designed other than with an rv park in mind, but as Walt said may be an excellent platform to upgrade for dry camping. I think I read where some have added an extra water tank.
RodgerS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 01:21 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 18
RogerS that is correct. No inverter power at all to the ground fault circuit and unfortunately the outlet over the sink is the only outlet to power anything at the sink/stove area. Currently I run an extension cord from the bedroom to that area.

I found the installation and operator manual for the inverter. I does list makes of GFCI's that it will work with. I will investigate further and get power to the GF circuit, one way or another!!
raymoe3641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 02:27 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,046
It's not that easy since there is probably a split bus in the circuit panel, one specifically for the Inverter. Power goes from the circuit panel to the Inverter, then back to the Inverter side of the circuit breaker panel and then to the two circuits involved. Micro and TV. I doubt there is enough room to "re-wire" the other circuits as suggested.

If you move the circuits around you will probably "overload" the internal transfer switch and secondary breaker in the Inverter. It is only rated for a total load of 1800 watts at any one time.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 02:43 PM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 18
Thanks Grumpy

I looked at the panels and it wouldn't be hard to move the ground fault circuit over to the dedicated inverter panel. We never use the micro to cook with when dry camping unless the generator is running. The only real load the inverter would ever see is the coffee pot or the hair dryer which we would take care not to run at the same time.
raymoe3641 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2015, 03:40 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,046
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymoe3641 View Post
Thanks Grumpy

I looked at the panels and it wouldn't be hard to move the ground fault circuit over to the dedicated inverter panel. We never use the micro to cook with when dry camping unless the generator is running. The only real load the inverter would ever see is the coffee pot or the hair dryer which we would take care not to run at the same time.
Then you should be fine.
__________________

Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.