Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-16-2019, 05:28 PM   #1

Absolute newbie here/ water question

When I get to the campsite, do I hook up to city fill, then switch to city fixture when the tank is full? Or do I just hook up to city fixture from the start?
Bigmanat87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2019, 05:31 PM   #2

You can do either. Most of us will just hook up to the water spigot and flip the valves to City Fixtures from the start.

There are times, when I use the campground to fill the tank and then pull from the tank with the valves on "Normal".
Old 05-16-2019, 06:46 PM   #3

I always carry a little water for dishes, toilet and showers so when I get to a site I hook up directly to city water and set my valves. Before I leave I refill as needed for the next section bn of the drive.

If I find that the camp ground water pressure is too low I might fill my fresh tank and use the water pump to provide the correct flow rates.
RVermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2019, 06:19 AM   #4

Something to remember is that when you fill the fresh water tank, you are adding over 400 pounds to the total weight of the MH. We use campground water for dishes and showers and the toilet. For cooking, drinking and brushing teeth, we carry bottled water. We keep a little water in the fresh water tank, but not much, since I can't see the necessity of driving with all that extra weight. If you do fill the tank and don't want to drive with all the water and extra weight, then you have to drain the tank at the campsite, which will take hours and isn't the best thing to do especially for the campers who will be using that site after you, or let the drain open while you drive, which isn't the best thing either. We don't boondock much, so our fresh water tank isn't used very often.

Love To Travel 2 is offline   Reply With Quote