Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-11-2013, 02:20 PM   #1

Another television question

Hey guys I'm trying to buy some television's for my 27' grey hawk. My question is should I purchase a home unit from let say Wal mart or get a brand with a/c,d/c capability's (Jensen). I would like to use it for both dry and shorepower. Thanks guys and sorry about the terminology, I'm new at this...
Bivwack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:38 PM   #2

Lot more questions than answers...

Do you have a generator on board the Grey Hawk? If so there is much less need for a 12v DC TV.

If no generator, do you have sufficient enough "house battery bank" to add television usage to your 12v loads while dry camping with out killing your house batteries?

Doesn't a MH typically have an inverter standard to run things like TVs when underway or dry camping? If so again no need for a 12v TV.

Ive never had a 12v TV, not really sure I've seen a AC/DC combo unit. IMO having a AC/DC or DC TV gives a lot more things to think about with respect to batteries and recharging while dry camping.

IMO, just get a 120v TV from wichever store you pick and then figure out how to supply AC power when dry camping. Either using an inverter or generator.
2012 Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
clubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:42 PM   #3

We always plug our TV's into an inverter that is plugged into the 12V outlet by the TV. The inverter gives us the capability to power some other device when we are not watching TV which is handy.

This is the one I use.

2012 Jayco X17Z SOLD!:Beerchug:
LongIslandCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 02:48 PM   #4

I use the standard ole WALMART VIZIO specials for the living room area and the bedroom area. These are 120VAC television sets.