Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-02-2018, 09:56 AM   #1

Cabinet door issues

Hello All. I have a Redhawk 26XD - so far very happy with it. I'm starting to see some of the shortcuts that Jayco takes. The center panels of the cabinet doors are just glued in place rather than being inserted into slots of the door frame. The first time I pushed on the center panel to close the door it started to come away from the frame. I'm not really good at woodworking projects but I'd like to find a way to hold the doors together rather than just using glue. The tools I have are very basic so it has to be a fairly simple solution. Thanks for the help.
jdux999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2018, 10:50 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdux999 View Post
Hello All. I have a Redhawk 26XD - so far very happy with it. I'm starting to see some of the shortcuts that Jayco takes. The center panels of the cabinet doors are just glued in place rather than being inserted into slots of the door frame. The first time I pushed on the center panel to close the door it started to come away from the frame. I'm not really good at woodworking projects but I'd like to find a way to hold the doors together rather than just using glue. The tools I have are very basic so it has to be a fairly simple solution. Thanks for the help.
jdux...I have built and installed cabinets and millwork professionally for many years. I owned a shop that had over 100 employees and we shipped custom pieces all over. Maybe I can help.

First, you don't want to use nails or screws on your cabinet doors except to hold the hinges. When a door is made in a door press glue is what is used. There may be a few small pins or brads shot in the back where the joints go together but they only are there to hold the door frame together until the glue dries.