Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2015, 03:36 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 195
Charging battery

Just got a chance to plug the motorhome in to shore power. Will the battery still charge if i keep the main power switch off.

Thanks
__________________

Greyhawk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 05:07 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Allentown
Posts: 24
No. You need to keep the main switch on for the charger to work.
__________________

Fishstick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 05:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: NJ
Posts: 195
Ok thanks i will turn it on. I was thinking it might still work since the electric steps still work with the main off.
Greyhawk01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 05:38 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Allentown
Posts: 24
I am not sure exactly how the steps are wired but from what I can tell, they work off the chassis battery and not the house battery.
Fishstick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 08:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
TX_Arvee's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Pearland, TX
Posts: 514
My Greyhawk 31FS charges the battery when plugged into shore power with the main switch turned "OFF". There seems to be a debate on this here, so all I can say is test it. Your volt meter wont lie.
TX_Arvee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 05:07 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Allentown
Posts: 24
I may be mixing things up. To charge the battery when driving, you need to have it on. I thought it was for shore power too. I will test it this weekend and let you know what I learn. Thank you for pointing this out.
Fishstick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2015, 09:15 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Allentown
Posts: 24
To close this out, I did the test. It does charge the battery with the main switch off.
Fishstick8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 09:03 PM   #8
Member
 
Scratch47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Gruene, Texas
Posts: 44
I plugged the Greyhawk into my standard garage 110v outlet yesterday, but was unable to get power to the coach. I've been able to charge the batteries etc. on all my previous rigs. Am I doing something wrong?
__________________
Scratch sends...
Scratch47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2015, 09:24 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
NVGun40's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Eagle River, AK
Posts: 810
Check the fuse at the battery?
__________________
We are just a humble drinking couple with a hunting and camping problem.
2015 White Hawk 25BHS Glacier Package
2004 Dodge Ram 2500, 5.7 Hemi, 5Spd Manual
2008 Arctic Cat M1000 SnoPro
Previous: Northface tent/Komfort 5er/Jamboree MH
Lance Cabover/Prowler TT/WildernessTT/Tiltin Hiltin Cabover/Starcraft popup
NVGun40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-21-2015, 09:18 AM   #10
Member
 
Scratch47's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Gruene, Texas
Posts: 44
Where is the main power fuse located on a Class C Greyhawk?
__________________

__________________
Scratch sends...
Scratch47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.