Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-21-2019, 02:01 PM   #1

Chat with Seneca Owner. Looking to buy.

Hello,

I know there are quite a few Seneca owners here but was hoping I might be able to chat 1:1 to get some questions answered and just get general nuggets of wisdom before I get serious in my search for a used 2012-2016 Seneca 37FS.

Even better if someone is located in the Phoenix metro area . Feel free to PM me if you wouldn’t mind having a conversation about Seneca ownership. Of course, happy to hear feedback here as well. Areas I’m interested include:

1. Searching for a unit. Seneca’s are pretty dispersed across the US so when you find one that you think is a good match, how do you vet it out? Hire someone local to do an inspection?

2. Running costs. I’m new to diesels and RV ownership. Last November our family of 4 took a trip in a 2018 red hawk 31XL and absolutely loved it. The room was certainly “adequate” but more floorplan, storage and towing capability has us cross-shopping a Greyhawk/Entegra bunkhouse “C” and the Seneca 37FS, which is what we really want. I’m interested in the maintenance costs on the Chassis of the Seneca. I understand coach maintenance will be additional, but curious to know the types of costs that go into running the Freightliner annually.

3. Towing. I recently bought a Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited to serve toad duty. Interested in setup and ease of towing with a Blue Ox flat-tow setup.

4. Storage - While we plan to use the RV for between 4-6 trips per year, anything special to consider with storage of the unit on down trips? I’m planning to pay for covered storage - too much paint & rubber degrading sun here in AZ to keep it out in the open!