Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-10-2011, 03:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Tom Copeland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 167
Question Direct or Dish

Input on Direct TV or Dish Network. Does the Direct Network pay-as-you-go programming really work?
We do not have either in our stick home so starting from step #1.
__________________

Tom Copeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 03:51 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
rodro123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 458
I have directv with DVR at home but when we go camping I have a directv dish connected to a PVC pipe that I mount with hose clamps to my ladder on my TT once we hit a RV park, I keep it in the back of the truck when on the road. I use my home DVR in my TT so I don't pay for a second box and can play pre-recorded items while camping.
__________________

__________________
Rod & Linda From Wisconsin
1- Labs (Ronnie)
2018 Eagle 330 RSTS
2015 Chevy Silverrado 2500
14,000#/1400 Equal-i-zer 4-way sway bars
rodro123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 05:11 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Bluejayco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 15
Direct TV does not have pay as you go.............I have Dish Network Pay as you go and it works great. You may have a few frustrations setting it up as a number of Dish people don't know anything about "pay as you go".......Dish only introduced pay as you go in the last year.
Bluejayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 06:34 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 9,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bluejayco View Post
Direct TV does not have pay as you go.............I have Dish Network Pay as you go and it works great. You may have a few frustrations setting it up as a number of Dish people don't know anything about "pay as you go".......Dish only introduced pay as you go in the last year.
They re-introduced it.. I had this a few years ago then they canceled it and left me sitting with a boat anchor.. wont use them again EVER..
__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
175 days boondocking in 2017
215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 06:44 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,524
I like DirecTV and have a separate dish that I take with me. I use both of my home receivers and a tripod for the dish. Works great. Currently I am out of my home spot beam area and have DNS service. Since both of my home receivers are currently in my 5'er I can have DNS service and if I was in my home area I would have both home locals and DNS at the same time.
I have set up both DirecTV and Dish and DirecTV seems easier to lock on to a satellite than Dish, but then that may just be me.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2011, 07:22 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
rodro123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 458
http://www.directv.com/DTVAPP/custom...equestid=23545

The link will give you the correct azimuth and elevation for directv all you need is the zipcode your at. I bought a signal finder for less then $10 just set the dish with the corect azimuth and elevation and fine tune using the signal meter. The first time I tryed it took 1/2 hour to get it right, but now its 1-2-3 setup. Make sure you start with the dish being level.
__________________
Rod & Linda From Wisconsin
1- Labs (Ronnie)
2018 Eagle 330 RSTS
2015 Chevy Silverrado 2500
14,000#/1400 Equal-i-zer 4-way sway bars
rodro123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 07:53 AM   #7
Member
 
jloving's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Boxborough, MA
Posts: 48
Send a message via MSN to jloving
I just bought a 2011 Greyhawk with in-motion satellite. I decided to go with Dish because I can activate/de-activate it at will. You have to buy your receiver instead of renting it if you go with the Pay as You go. Also, Dish will probably not setup your satellite dish. Do it yourself or pay a 3rd party. My in-motion works great. Good Luck.
__________________
Jim & Terri
2011 Greyhawk 31fk
jloving is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 12:13 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Tom Copeland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Jacksonville, NC
Posts: 167
Thanks
That's my plan right now.
Tom Copeland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 07:32 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 17
I have DirecTV HD at home, but the dish that I travel with is the old round one. I am having difficulty locking on. Is this because I am trying to link two different systems?
Campergma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2011, 08:50 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Campergma View Post
I have DirecTV HD at home, but the dish that I travel with is the old round one. I am having difficulty locking on. Is this because I am trying to link two different systems?
Make sure you have gone into the receiver settings and told it what kind of dish you have. If you have a different system at home, such as multi switches, multi LNBs, etc - and have not reconfigured then you will probably have difficulty. Remember the settings and just change it back when you get home.
__________________

__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.