Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-14-2015, 07:32 AM   #1

Dishes and such

Since I am new to the world of RVing which I am very excited to join, I wonder how you stabilize dishes/glases/etc in cabinets while traveling. My common sense tells me little baskets but just curious what everyone does. I can't wait to take my first trip at New Years and want to be prepared. Hope to crank everything up tomorrow for a ride around town!!
Charlene20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:39 AM   #2

We use essentially only plastic dishware and drinking glasses/cups, and we don't really do anything to stabilize them in the cabinet. They have been no problem so far. As for breakable foodstuffs, we do put them in plastic baskets in the pantry cupboard, again no problem.
the major warning is to be very careful the first time you open the refrigerator door after being on the road - that is where we have had stuff fall out and break.

If I had anything better to do I would be doing it :)
snowbird47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 07:49 AM   #3

In our htt we primarily use plastic dishes, no baskets, as I have not found ones that fit our dish cabinet well. They are a jumbled mess. Spices and like we do use low wall baskets. In the pantry were pay attention to how things are packed so things do not move.

When you open a door expect 5hings to want to fall out, get in the habit of opening them really slowly and catching something.

We have only rented MHs the sounds of pots and pans rattling drove us nuts. We put paper plates and towels between the pots to quiet them down.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2015, 08:04 AM   #4