Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-09-2021, 12:49 PM   #1

E-450 Engine Trouble

I drove my 2021 Greyhawk 27U from Seattle up to Alaska via the Al-Can last week. Beautiful drive until I hit a particularly bumpy stretch of the Alaska Highway. <10 MPH, but the vibration was still pretty bad. So bad, in fact, that it shattered the connector between my power brakes/steering line and the water pump (see picture.)

I'm not a mechanic so I may be mis-naming these parts, but the way the mechanic explained it to me, Ford went cheap by using a basic plastic connector that doesn't do well with extreme heat and vibration. He said it wasn't the first example of this flaw he had seen and couldn't understand why Ford didn't stick with a metal/flanged connector.

Regardless, for those driving with the 2021 E-450 chassis equipped with the 7.3L V-8, be extra-careful to avoid excess vibration.

Anyone else run into this one?
Attached Thumbnails
E-450 Flaw.jpg  
907-Jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2021, 01:16 PM   #2

Thanks for the heads up. I wonder if there is a way to reinforce that to prevent this from happening? Perhaps Ford would issue a recall?
jyh818 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2021, 01:18 PM   #3

E-450 Engine Trouble

You'd think this would justify a recall! I looked up my VIN in the recall database, but unfortunately nothing listed around this issue.

The mechanic (in Tok, Alaska!) who is working on it now had to order the replacement from a Ford dealership in Redding, CA since they're backordered up and down the West Coast. Once I have the unit back, I may try to order a spare just to have it on hand.
Old 08-09-2021, 01:42 PM   #4

I just went out to look at mine and the plastic connector is probably inside the nut. Perhaps it's the flare portion. The rest looks like it's metal.