Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 01-15-2024, 06:03 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: stuart
Posts: 46
Electrical Questions

Hellos - happy new year.

Problem suddenly started up today as I was working on the RV today.
I have a 2006 Greyhawk 27. Fired everything up. All seemed normal.
I turned the generator on - all the power lights were on. Went inside for a few hours to let everything warm up. Came back. Went to turn the TV on and NO power to the TV plug [which is in the entertainment cabinet above the drivers seat].

What a waste of a day trying to figure out why this 'one' plug had no power!
ALL OTHER plugs are working. The fridge has power etc.. JUST this one plug has no power!??

This plug only functions normally when the gen is on or the RV is plugged into an external AC/land. I have checked all fuses and breakers - ALL good.

Anyone have a clue what the issue could be? [Discovered another problem during all this - another post].

Thanks, dw
dr5chrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2024, 06:13 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: stuart
Posts: 46
electrical #2

Hellos all again.. #2 issue today in my 2006 greyhawk 27

Along with my 1st post plug issue, I discovered that the installed inverter [xantrex RS400] doesn't seem to be functioning at all.

When the gen is off and the inverter switch is on, there is no AC power anywhere in the RV.

I checked the unit and the light is on. None of the breakers are blown. If I fire up the GEN the inverter lights go out [I think they are supposed to].

I have no clue where to start looking for the problem. I use inverter packs in my business but have no inverter RV experience.

Any input would be much help, TY dw
dr5chrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2024, 06:36 PM   #3
Site Team
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Connellsville
Posts: 22,739
Please note: This thread is combined from 2 question threads by the member.

Midnightmoon

Site-Team
__________________
Moderator
2017 Jay Feather 7 22BHM Baja/Andersen WD
2018 F150 4x4 3.5L Ecoboost Max Tow
2015 MB Sprinter 2500 Passenger 2.1L Diesel
2007 Ram 2500 4x4 Cummins 5.9L G56

Midnightmoon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2024, 07:54 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
JimD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Inland Empire, California
Posts: 2,032
The inverter and shore power/generator both feed that outlet through a transfer switch. That switch will select either the inverter power or shore/generator power and send it to the outlet.

This inverter apparently has an internal transfer switch so I would recommend starting in this area for troubleshooting. First look for a GFCI reset switch on the inverter and do a reset of it. I have had my inverter's GFCI trip if I fire up the generator while the inverter is on.

I have attached the manual for your inverter that I grabbed from the manufacturer's web site. Hopefully it will help.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf RS400_Sine_Wave_Inverter_445-0167-01-01_OG.pdf (409.6 KB, 15 views)
__________________


Jim

Retired electronic technician (45 years in the field)
2017 Greyhawk 29W (solar & many other mods)
wife (maybe I should have given her top billing)
JimD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2024, 07:59 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,704
Did you happen to have the ignition key on? If so, that would cause that one outlet not to work. ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2024, 10:06 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: stuart
Posts: 46
ill have a look. I did not see anything that was tripped. so the trans switch is inside the inverter? Could it be anything outside? As I discovered, its a small inverter. Is it likely that the inverter only runs the front TV plug? Possible the 2 are connected in failure?
There are old 2 110 plugs on the side. Ill have to unscrew it from the floor. its in the cupboard in a very tight spot on the floor.





Quote:
Originally Posted by JimD View Post
The inverter and shore power/generator both feed that outlet through a transfer switch. That switch will select either the inverter power or shore/generator power and send it to the outlet.

This inverter apparently has an internal transfer switch so I would recommend starting in this area for troubleshooting. First look for a GFCI reset switch on the inverter and do a reset of it. I have had my inverter's GFCI trip if I fire up the generator while the inverter is on.

I have attached the manual for your inverter that I grabbed from the manufacturer's web site. Hopefully it will help.
Attached Thumbnails
419620716_1772371843190449_7807009818987355369_n.jpg  
dr5chrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2024, 10:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: stuart
Posts: 46
I know this, but the plug still didnt work with the engine off and gen on, then the gen off with the inverter switch on only... nothing on that plug



Quote:
Originally Posted by craigav View Post
Did you happen to have the ignition key on? If so, that would cause that one outlet not to work. ~CA
dr5chrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2024, 01:09 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,278
You may know this but I think craig is onto something. That one plug, behind my TV, is connected to the inverter and had the disable relay when the engine was on. I suspect it's something with the inverter or the relay has failed and disabled the plug.

The ATS is usually a separate box, labeled as such. In mine, it was a plastic box, about 10" square, 6" high. Back by the wiring.

I'm just suspicious of the fact that plug has died.
I might be tempted just to first do a replacement outlet.
Cheap, easy, see if it comes back.

If not, then I'd work back to the Inverter.
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2024, 05:36 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Troy
Posts: 1,356
Being as it is from 2005 or 2006, I would suspect the inverter has a problem. Pull it out, and see if there is a reset, and do some testing to see if it works at all?
Make sure you have 120 volts and 12 volts coming to it first.
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2024, 08:45 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Brunswick Hills
Posts: 921
Clearly a project for a multi-meter.
__________________
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.

"We'll be friends until we're old and senile,....then we'll be new friends."
muckinfuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2024, 12:18 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: stuart
Posts: 46
Follow up

Hellos again -

Im fairly certain this is an inverter issue, [obviously I am an RV novice]. Attached is an image of the inverter and another some sort of power box.
I thought I'd just replace. What does the other box actually do?
Can anyone suggest an inverter replacement? XANTREX and JAYCO do not reply. I bought some solar panels in late fall that I have not yet installed. Dont need another xantrex but would like a higher power unit as long as the hook up wires are the same. The other box here - there are no lights on it or switches. There is a fan on the side but have never seen it come on, so IDK if it is working. Thanks again for all the help. dw
Attached Thumbnails
20240125_120416.jpg  
dr5chrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2024, 01:07 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Troy
Posts: 1,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by dr5chrome View Post
Hellos again -

Im fairly certain this is an inverter issue, [obviously I am an RV novice]. Attached is an image of the inverter and another some sort of power box.
I thought I'd just replace. What does the other box actually do?
Can anyone suggest an inverter replacement? XANTREX and JAYCO do not reply. I bought some solar panels in late fall that I have not yet installed. Dont need another xantrex but would like a higher power unit as long as the hook up wires are the same. The other box here - there are no lights on it or switches. There is a fan on the side but have never seen it come on, so IDK if it is working. Thanks again for all the help. dw
The silver box on the right is a 65 amp converter. It takes Shore or generator 120 volts AC and converts it to 13-14 volts DC for your 12 volt needs and it charges your batteries.
The black box on the left is 400 watt inverter. It inverts 12 volt DC system power to 120 volts AC. AT 400 watts it can produce just less than 4 amps at 120 volts. So, that is what powers your TV receptacle and TV. Make sure the breaker is on. This is a link to the manual. There is a reset button, and a GFCI reset button on the face (lower side) of the inverter. And an on/off switch. And (4) led indicator lights. Give it your best inspection. Most likely tripped.
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2024, 02:35 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: stuart
Posts: 46
OK - TY . The silver box must be functioning then. When the GEN is on there is power + 12V.
ALL breakers are on. Nothing on the inverter is tripped [nothing to press back in]. The green light in on on the inverter [photo above]. dw



Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Cooper View Post
The silver box on the right is a 65 amp converter. It takes Shore or generator 120 volts AC and converts it to 13-14 volts DC for your 12 volt needs and it charges your batteries.
The black box on the left is 400 watt inverter. It inverts 12 volt DC system power to 120 volts AC. AT 400 watts it can produce just less than 4 amps at 120 volts. So, that is what powers your TV receptacle and TV. Make sure the breaker is on. This is a link to the manual. There is a reset button, and a GFCI reset button on the face (lower side) of the inverter. And an on/off switch. And (4) led indicator lights. Give it your best inspection. Most likely tripped.
dr5chrome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2024, 03:23 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Camper_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 7,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by muckinfuss View Post
Clearly a project for a multi-meter.
Yup!!

First check would be at the inverter to see if it's passing 120V out and receiving battery power (~12.6V) in.

If it's dishing out 120V, then next stop is breaker, then on down the line. But IMO, you're probably not going to make it much further than that since the outlet is receiving power from shore/generator.

It's probably getting 12V in as indicated by the green light, so the problem is likely downstream on the 120V side, or inside the inverter.

IMO, if you're going to replace it anyway, may as well do it now.
__________________

-2018 Greyhawk 29MV
-2020 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JLU) (Primary Toad)
-1994 Jeep Wrangler YJ (Secondary Toad)
-2014 Jay Flight 28BHBE & Ram 2500 6.4L CC 4x4 (sold)
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2024, 01:24 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Tyler
Posts: 34
I had mine do the same thing and it turned out to be the GFCI outlet on the front. Replaced it and problem resolved.
mprosser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2024, 10:13 AM   #16
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 5
Quote:
Originally Posted by mprosser View Post
I had mine do the same thing and it turned out to be the GFCI outlet on the front. Replaced it and problem resolved.
Check GFI in bathroom and kitchen for sure!!!!
steinborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 11:09 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: OC
Posts: 11
any resolution to this .. had the same problem on a just completed vacation.

Last time I used our 2008 26' Melbourne, I tried to run the Kerig coffee maker off the tv plug outlet using the inverter. It started but shut itself down quckly and I didn't think anything of it. Fast forward to a 2 week trip to Texas for the eclipse and first time I try to use the tv I discover no power to those two outlets (only). Only GFI plug I find is in the bathroom and it is fine. Accessed the inverter under the bed and don't find a reset button. Breakers are not tripped. Also discovered cig lighter and accessory charger on dash not working to charge phones. Find blown fuse for lighter and it now works .. accessory plug still does not. One last piece of info .. the switch at the step that shuts off battery power in the coach is not working when I got home and attempted to shut everything down like I have always done .. all of these are new problems. Any helpful thoughts are welcome
CWRoady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 12:18 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2021
Location: Troy
Posts: 1,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by CWRoady View Post
any resolution to this .. had the same problem on a just completed vacation.

Last time I used our 2008 26' Melbourne, I tried to run the Kerig coffee maker off the tv plug outlet using the inverter. It started but shut itself down quckly and I didn't think anything of it. Fast forward to a 2 week trip to Texas for the eclipse and first time I try to use the tv I discover no power to those two outlets (only). Only GFI plug I find is in the bathroom and it is fine. Accessed the inverter under the bed and don't find a reset button. Breakers are not tripped. Also discovered cig lighter and accessory charger on dash not working to charge phones. Find blown fuse for lighter and it now works .. accessory plug still does not. One last piece of info .. the switch at the step that shuts off battery power in the coach is not working when I got home and attempted to shut everything down like I have always done .. all of these are new problems. Any helpful thoughts are welcome
Does the inverter have an on/off switch? Turn the breaker to off, then back to on.
Kevin Cooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2024, 11:32 AM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2021
Location: OC
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Cooper View Post
Does the inverter have an on/off switch? Turn the breaker to off, then back to on.
Appreciate the suggestion Kevin, had tried throwing the breakers with no change, but tried again and same result.
CWRoady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-18-2024, 01:15 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,278
Sorry I just scanned this thread - but my Xantrex inverter has an complicated reset proces, if I recall. Going from memory on this - but it's something like physically disconnecting the battery inputs... Maybe check the inverter manual???
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.