Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-18-2015, 02:09 PM   #1

Engine Oil - Conventional / Synthetic

My Greyhawk is not yet due for it's first Oil change. But it will be by the end of the season. On average my trailer travels have been putting on about 6000-7500 miles per year. I don't expect that will change with the purchase of our Motorhome, at least not in the near future.

So my expectation is that Oil and filter changes will be part of my Winterization process. I am contemplating how to best protect and maintatin my engine during the winter storage months. I anticipate going up to the trailer to run the engine and generator once a month to keep everything lubricated.

My thoughts are that Synthetic Oil will be a worthwile investment for me but I am by no means an expert. My reasoning is this... If I want to run the engine in the winter with conventional Oil... I would need to put 5W-30 in the engine so it does not turn to sludge in the cold weather and then would need to change the oil again in the spring to handle the hot summer weather, particularily when we travel South and push through mountain passes. Whereas the Synthetic Oil will operate in both the freezing and hot temperature ranges. Also am I correct in my understanding that the Synthetic Oil is less prone to breakdown and therefore the once annual oil change should not be a problem where conventional should be changed on at least 6 month intervals.

Your thoughts and expertise are appreciated!!!

Griswald One - Life is a Misadventure!
2015 Greyhawk 29ME / Chevy Sonic
Griswald One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2015, 02:16 PM   #2

I would only use 5W20 as is listed in the owners manual. The tolerances are very close and oil ports are smaller. There have been several reports of issues with the V-10 with the use of the heavier oils.