Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 11-12-2021, 06:02 AM   #1

First trip with TOAD

Hi all,
I am a relative newbie here.

My wife and I are taking our first week long trip with our 2016 Jayco Melbourne 24k pulling a 2016 Jeep Patriot manual.
We have a new Blue Ox tow system. Never set it up, but videoed the service person that installed it. We will do a trial setup Saturday morning as we leave Sunday morning.

Question#1.
The Jeep mechanic said no need to put key to acc position. It clearly does not release the steering wheel as the wheels turn without it in the acc position. He said just put it out of gear and go. It that correct? I assume the Blue Ox gets its power from the RV, is that correct?

Question #2.
Would you think it would be a safe practice to turn your water off at the street?

As alway, very appreciative of the helpful info.

Thanks,

David7
David7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2021, 07:32 AM   #2

When you purchased you Blue Ox did you get a tow bar, base plate kit, safety cables, wiring harness, supplemental braking system, and possibly a high-low adapter? Our set up is really easy, and takes about 10-15 minutes taking your time. Good luck

Question#1.

Don't know about a Jeep, but our 2011 Ford Escape, you do have to have the key in the accessory mode.

Question #2.

Speaking of you residence, we have a meter cut-off valve, and a cut-off valve at the house itself. We use the cut-off at the house.
JK31 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2021, 07:49 AM   #3

My tow system, breaking, has an on off switch in my Honda Pilot that turns the system on, runs off the battery. My system is permanently installed, not a suitcase system
The ignition, for auto trans cars, is to unlock the steering wheel only, not power the breaking system