Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 12-29-2014, 01:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 34
Gas heat going to 72 regardless of setting

During the last camping trip, the temperature got down to 29 degrees. When I turned on the gas heat and set it for 68. Later on I noticed that the heat set point was 72. Did this a couple of times with the same result. After watching this, I noticed that the set point would go to 00 and then 72. I emailed support at AirXcel and this is the reply I got.
. 72 is factory default on the thermostat, so what you are experiencing is likely a weak ground. The double zero is an indication that the incoming voltage to the thermostat is below useable range. When the voltage goes back to normal, the thermostat will automatically be set to 72. About 90% of the cases I run into like this, reestablishing the ground corrects the problem.
Just as info. It all worked fine during the day when the heat pump was running. So off we go to the dealer.



driwer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 03:36 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Jersey
Posts: 310
I had a similar issue.I took the panel off there the heater is and they had the thicker white wire grounded to the heater itself.Upon chasing the thermostat wires and checking them for tightness I found the ground was loose on the heater itself.That solved the problem of the heater doing what it wanted to do.Im guessing when it clicked to start or at set point it would lose power and reset to factory default.Could be simple fix
__________________
06 2500 Duramax. Air lift 5000 air bags,Equalizer WDH, EFI live,fass fuel system,4" straight pipe

2015 Jayco Eagle Premier 314BHDS

IBEW local 94 Electrical Worker
314BHDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 05:02 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Speedwell
Posts: 15
Hmmm I have had the same problem. I just thought it was something I did. I will have to check the ground connections.
Ronbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.