Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2015, 05:03 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 14
GFI won't test/reset

i was running off generator/battery last weekend and attempted to re-level my BigFoot system. everything was working...coffee pot brewing, crock pot going, furnace...then i pushed the button to re-level and everything stopped working! i reset every breaker and checked every fuse in the powerbox at the foot of the bed. also reset the breaker on the generator. still nothing. I also noticed that the GFI in the bathroom would not test/reset. what am i missing? is there a secret ruse/breaker i don't know about.

when i plug into shore-power everything works!! I'm not good at electrical problems, so looking for some experts to chime in. Thanks.
__________________

jeffschropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 05:59 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Oakland
Posts: 61
Sounds like your generator is not working, is it an inverter or regular one?the camper must be fine if it works on shore power ,Turn the generator on and try to plug an appliance in to see if it works, inverter generator needs to be restarted after an overload, resetting the breaker won't correct it
__________________

__________________
2013 Toyota Tundra 4.6 towing package -gone, Jay Flight slx BHSW
2016 Toyota Tundra 5.7 SR5, TRD
Chata is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 12:06 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 46
Sounds like the transfer switch to me The generator has to be running smooth before it will switch over . In the cold mine will take up to 3 to 5 mitutes
moonraker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 02:17 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 14
hi chata - i have an Onan generator and an inverter. it was my understanding that the generator should charge the batteries, and the inverter takes battery power and converts it to the camper outlets. today, we are camping again and plugged into shore power. everything is working now, including the TV. before i plugged-in to shore power, i tried the batteries again. i parked, turned off engine, reset the generator breaker, turned on battery disconnect (lights came on), leveled the coach, bumped out, started generator, turned on inverter, and only one outlet (behind passenger seat) will work. furnace turned on and got hot (generated heat), but TV would not come on and all other outlets were dead. turned-off the generator. plugged-in to shore power and now all outlets are working and tv is working. I'm not sure how to reset the inverter?
jeffschropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 02:18 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 14
hi moonraker - how does the transfer switch work? does it automatically kick-in, or is there a "switch"? also wondering, does the inverter need to be on when the generator is running? or only if i am running on battery (w/o generator)?
jeffschropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 07:42 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 46
The inverter only powers the plug at your main tv area . No other plugs will have power unless the generator is running The transfer switch is automatic
moonraker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 04:43 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 14
thanks moonraker. so the one plug that works must be the inverter plug! good to know. the generator was running and the other plugs were still dead. the generator must not be "connected" i ran it for 15-20 minutes. i was wondering if when i was cycling the generator circuit breaker, maybe i was going from off-on-off. i will try just flipping in one time (maybe it was off to start with?).
jeffschropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2015, 05:52 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 46
Towards you is on facing the generator
moonraker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2015, 11:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,165
FYI, some tripped GFIs won't reset without power to them.
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2015, 03:26 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Rochester Hills
Posts: 14
thanks Don. When i'm plugged into shore power, GFI works. when i unplug from shore power, it doesn't.

Generator is running, but i don't think it is charging or not connected to batteries??
__________________

jeffschropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, generator, gfi, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.