Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-27-2015, 04:03 PM   #1

GFI won't test/reset

i was running off generator/battery last weekend and attempted to re-level my BigFoot system. everything was working...coffee pot brewing, crock pot going, furnace...then i pushed the button to re-level and everything stopped working! i reset every breaker and checked every fuse in the powerbox at the foot of the bed. also reset the breaker on the generator. still nothing. I also noticed that the GFI in the bathroom would not test/reset. what am i missing? is there a secret ruse/breaker i don't know about.

when i plug into shore-power everything works!! I'm not good at electrical problems, so looking for some experts to chime in. Thanks.
jeffschropp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2015, 04:59 PM   #2

Sounds like your generator is not working, is it an inverter or regular one?the camper must be fine if it works on shore power ,Turn the generator on and try to plug an appliance in to see if it works, inverter generator needs to be restarted after an overload, resetting the breaker won't correct it
Old 03-28-2015, 11:06 AM   #3

Sounds like the transfer switch to me The generator has to be running smooth before it will switch over . In the cold mine will take up to 3 to 5 mitutes
moonraker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2015, 01:17 PM   #4