Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-06-2020, 06:39 PM   #1

Inside and outside water pump switches

I'm a newbie struggling to figure out my 2020 Redhawk SE 27N, including its water system.

There are two water pump switches: one on the outside on the Utility Center where you find settings for City fill, Country Fill, etc.; the other, on the inside on the Command Center monitor panel near the door. I have attached pictures of each to this post.

I thought the outside switch was only to turn on a pump for "country filling" - that is, filling the fresh water tank from a non-pressurized source. I thought the purpose of the inside switch was to activate a pump to pull water from the fresh water tank and run it through the sink, toilette, etc.

Now, it appears that I can't get water from the sink or make the toilette flush unless both the inside and the outside switches are turned on. If this is the way it is supposed to work, why are both switches needed? If not, what am I doing wrong?

Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails
Outside Water Pump Switch.jpg   Inside Water Pump Switch.jpg  
curtsnyder1991 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2020, 07:10 PM   #2

Welcome to the JOF and congratulations on your new RV.
The 2 switches are a convenience factor so you can turn the pump ON or OFF from either location. If you are connected to a CG water system your switch combo will be City Fixtures and you can flip your water pump switch to OFF in your wet bay without having to go inside the coach. Otherwise your pump will run steady without pumping any water.
When you are leaving the CG you will flip the combo to Normal so that you will enable the onboard pump system. You can either turn the pump ON from the wet bay or go into the coach and turn it ON when you think you might need it.