Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2019, 05:48 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: hyde park
Posts: 729
Jayco class c power cord

We have a 2019 22j and power cord storage compartment is a joke. What has anyone done to make it easier to store and remove...TOLD YOU NEED TO TAKE CORD OUT COMPLETELY OR CHANCE IT OVERHEATING??
cherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 06:06 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kennewick
Posts: 331
Never heard the one about taking it out completely. Neve had an issue in 3 years of ownership.

That said, a common modification is to remove the cord, wire in an exterior plug, then have the power cord as a separate unit similar to your water hose. I have watched some video's on this, but honestly, just haven't gotten fed up enough yet.

Beyond that, I am not sure if there is enough room in the compartment for a reel of some kind.

I find the only realy hassle being running the cord through the little hole. A novel solution may to simply make a "plug" from foam or board of some kind and leave the door open but run the cord through a hole in the plug. The idea is to keep critters out of the inside compartment. Just a thought.
__________________
2016 Jayco GreyHawk 31DS
2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk Toad.
SE Washington State
jd99336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 06:45 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Hilton Head Island
Posts: 295
There are two sides to every story...some say the cords will overheat, others say it won't. I have an EMS which I plug into the pedestal then my shore line gets plugged into the EMS, so it's always stretched out, not coiled up. I always wrap a chain with a lock around the pedestal so the EMS won't walk away, but I'm probably being a little too protective, or anal.

To remedy the situation, I was going to cut the shore line at about three feet from the junction box in the compartment, install a male 30A plug on the end, then put a 30A female on the open end of the long cord. This way I can accomplish two things...keep the cord coiled properly in an adjacent compartment when I don't need it and then only insert a foot or two of the cord into the rat hole instead of all 25 feet, AND I could keep the EMS connected inside the locked electrical compartment without fearing that it will walk away. Unfortunately, it will make it more difficult to check on the status of the EMS since it would be inside a locked compartment.

But with all good things, I still have this on my to-do list for another day.
__________________
Susan, Ed & Ellee (RIP) Katz
2018 Jayco 29MV
2018 Chevy Equinox

Love To Travel 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 07:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Michigan
Posts: 2,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherv View Post
..TOLD YOU NEED TO TAKE CORD OUT COMPLETELY OR CHANCE IT OVERHEATING??
Read your owners manual, it says to pull cord all the way out. It may or may not ever happen but why chance starting a fire in the middle of the night when you're sleeping. I love when people say mine doesn't get hot, and I dont ever pull it all the way out.
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 07:59 PM   #5
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by Love To Travel 2 View Post
To remedy the situation, I was going to cut the shore line at about three feet from the junction box in the compartment, install a male 30A plug on the end, then put a 30A female on the open end of the long cord. This way I can accomplish two things...keep the cord coiled properly in an adjacent compartment when I don't need it and then only insert a foot or two of the cord into the rat hole instead of all 25 feet, AND I could keep the EMS connected inside the locked electrical compartment without fearing that it will walk away.
That's actually an interesting solution, keeping the EMS inside. I also lock mine to the pedestal now.

I'm wondering though, I never checked mine, but does the EMS itself get warm if you're running high amps through it? Any issue from the heat of the EMS inside the compartment instead of the heat from a coiled wire?
RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Kingman AZ and where our Seneca is today.
Posts: 3,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherv View Post
and remove...TOLD YOU NEED TO TAKE CORD OUT COMPLETELY OR CHANCE IT OVERHEATING??
Who told you that? oh.. never mind - I bet I know....
__________________
Steve & Stacy with Jasper (Australian Cattle dog)
2015 Seneca 36FK
Custom 27' flatbed trailer hauling:
07 Toyota FJC & Yamaha Kodiak 400 ATV

SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Hilton Head Island
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredOne View Post
I'm wondering though, I never checked mine, but does the EMS itself get warm if you're running high amps through it? Any issue from the heat of the EMS inside the compartment instead of the heat from a coiled wire?
I don't know. We camp more in the cooler weather, so I don't have much history with the A/C running 24 hours a day along with other large draw electrical equipment.

I'll feel safer with the EMS locked inside a compartment, but the way our 29MV is with window locations, I can usually look out a window and see the readout on the EMS hanging on the pedestal. If it's locked up, then I'll need to go outside, unlock the door, check the readout, then lock the door, back inside, etc. If I do anything, I'll do the cord cut and add the new male and female ends to make a 23 foot extension cord that I can easily push a foot or two up into the rat hole.
__________________
Susan, Ed & Ellee (RIP) Katz
2018 Jayco 29MV
2018 Chevy Equinox

Love To Travel 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:27 PM   #8
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Ocean County
Posts: 2,807
Quote:
Originally Posted by SloPoke View Post
Who told you that? oh.. never mind - I bet I know....
It is actually written in the owners manual, don't know if it's scare tactics or not, but it's there.
RetiredOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2019, 08:48 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Kingman AZ and where our Seneca is today.
Posts: 3,122
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetiredOne View Post
It is actually written in the owners manual, don't know if it's scare tactics or not, but it's there.
And do you follow EVERY WARNING in the instruction manual too? This is my favorite!!!

 Do not connect the shore power cord to any power receptacle until you have
contacted the campground owner and/or premise attendant to verify proper
shore receptacle polarity and grounding.

Come on... the manual was written with the safety warnings that the lawyers insisted on... How many of you call the campground owner out at 10PM and have them come out with a circuit tester and test the power pedestal before you plug in your stuff (EMS or not).

If I tested it, why do I need the campground owner to come out in her Pajamas to verify it for me?


Yea... I've run with scissors... tried it for a marathon until I dropped them by accident.
__________________
Steve & Stacy with Jasper (Australian Cattle dog)
2015 Seneca 36FK
Custom 27' flatbed trailer hauling:
07 Toyota FJC & Yamaha Kodiak 400 ATV

SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:51 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: hyde park
Posts: 729
Could be a cya
cherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 06:54 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: hyde park
Posts: 729
This should have been adressed during coach mfg. If a potential overheating could be a fire hazzard. Owners should not have to deal with it.
cherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 07:03 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: hyde park
Posts: 729
Just received a reply from jayco customer service. No need to extend cord completely just roll out what you need. What a relief not to have to modify or extend cord.
cherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 07:44 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: --
Posts: 2,392
I cut my cord about 3' off the box inside the coach (maybe its 4' not sure), and put new ends on each of the cut ends. Much easier to stuff the cord into the small compartment when you can roll it up like an extension cord.

When I'm using the camper, I dangle the short end out the bottom of the coach, and connect the other end from there.
__________________
2023 Ford F-150 XLT SCREW 3.5EB (Max Tow Pkg., Black Appearance Pkg., Bed Utility Pkg.)
1727 Payload / 4150 RAWR

On the sidelines taking it all in.


Jopopsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 12:24 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
JimD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Inland Empire, California
Posts: 2,024
If the power cord has the correct gauge wires for the application (30 amp or 50 amp), it may get warm to the touch if you are pulling a major load. Multiple ac units on at the same time is a large load.

Just running lights, microwaves, etc. will not warm up the power cord at all. If you wonder why the cord is so big and clumsy, it is because the wires need to be large to prevent heating up due to voltage drop.

Voltage drop basically occurs in any wire. All wire has a certain amount of resistance to it. The larger the wire, the less resistance. Current running through a resistance causes a voltage drop and heat therefore you need large enough wires for minimal resistance.

If you are worried about your power cord just feel it when in use. If it is HOT to the touch rather than just warm, you probably should extend it to allow it to run cooler. This is a worst case scenario.
JimD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 01:01 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: hyde park
Posts: 729
thanks, see my comment from Jayco above..
cherv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:45 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Camper_bob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: South Texas
Posts: 7,222
I re-wired my cord as has been mentioned in this thread several times. Not because I was worried about heat, but because it was a PITA the way they had it.

Now I can coil my cord nicely and store it wherever I want. Plus I can use the appropriate length of cord I need (I carry a 30' and a 50' cord)

I don't have one yet, but when I finally get DW to release the funds, my EMS will probably live in the little compartment and be plugged in-line and locked up to prevent the growth of legs. Better yet, if I decide to hard-wire one, that would be super easy the way I have it configured, and I would have the benefit of a remote status indicator that could be seen from inside the rig...
__________________

-2018 Greyhawk 29MV
-2020 Jeep Wrangler Unlimited (JLU) (Primary Toad)
-1994 Jeep Wrangler YJ (Secondary Toad)
-2014 Jay Flight 28BHBE & Ram 2500 6.4L CC 4x4 (sold)
Camper_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2019, 02:48 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Eastpoint, Fl.
Posts: 338
Quote:
Originally Posted by cherv View Post
We have a 2019 22j and power cord storage compartment is a joke. What has anyone done to make it easier to store and remove...TOLD YOU NEED TO TAKE CORD OUT COMPLETELY OR CHANCE IT OVERHEATING??
Cherv, I am attaching a few pictures showing what I did to avoid rolling the cord tightly into that small box on our 29 MV.
Also, as JimD said you can feel your cord and don’t overlook the plugs heating up. More than likely they will get hot first.
Several years ago I had a 50 amp cord cap on a yacht that turned black. That lead to investigating why? As the wire heats up and cools down the connections inside the cord cap can loosen. Check the tightness of the ends from time to time.
You’ll see in my 2nd picture I use a 50 amp Progressive Surge Protector from our previous bus. The 50 amp outlets are usually in better shape that the 30 amp.
Hope this info combined with others answers helps you. Jimmyd
Forgot to mention that the second 30 amp cord is for my additional 15,000 AC unit. We can use it separately as needed.
Attached Thumbnails
A9E769C4-E713-48F7-A473-3B797D3D5062.jpg   C3E896AA-FABD-4F8C-89BD-4757EAC53E39.jpg  
Jimmyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 12:19 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 44
I completely agree with your comments. The first thing I did when I purchased my White Hawk 27FBOK was to remove the Power cable and install a new power receptacle purchased from Good Sam. It works great and when leaving camp ground I unplug and stow the cable in a five gallon bucket.
1Cruzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 01:56 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Kennewick
Posts: 331
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Cruzin View Post
I completely agree with your comments. The first thing I did when I purchased my White Hawk 27FBOK was to remove the Power cable and install a new power receptacle purchased from Good Sam. It works great and when leaving camp ground I unplug and stow the cable in a five gallon bucket.
I am kicking around this modification. Probably makes sense to drop the short cord/plug out the existing hole, otherwise you would likely have to put the new exterior plug in the door itself.

Any threads you could link here to show the process. I am comfortable with the whole cut the cord and install new plugs part of it, but looking more for idea's on what approach to take for the exterior plug and what plug are more highly recommended. Thanks.
__________________
2016 Jayco GreyHawk 31DS
2016 Jeep Cherokee Trailhawk Toad.
SE Washington State
jd99336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2019, 02:12 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Springfield
Posts: 558
I don't like stuffing that cord back in there either. A really nice way to do it is like on the Phoenix Cruiser. The cord is separate from the unit. There is a twist lock recepticle on the side of the rig. You just get the cord out of storage, twist lock it in at the rig end then plug in as usual at the power stalk. You can see it at the Phoenix Cruiser comparison video on youtube. I wish I could get the part number for the cord and twist lock and I would do that mod.
t18skyguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.