Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 09-12-2022, 03:13 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Frankfort
Posts: 1
Jensen radio

Hi Jayco friends
I'm a newbie full time in my 2015 Greyhawk recently my radio/camera quit working and now going to order new radio to have installed just wondering if I should order same radio or is there one that has the new updates to the maps that will be compatible?

Thank you
Gina714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 11:12 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,380
Gina - your best bet might be to just find a Best Buy or other automotive stereo installer near by and talk to them. When I looked, I didn't see anything in my budget that had everything I wanted.


For example - I disconnected the side cameras and only use the rear one.


Or, start here and get an idea of what's out there:
https://www.etrailer.com/RV-Stereos/...BoCho0QAvD_BwE




The size of the unit is called "Double DIN" I think. You could google up some possibilities. But be aware that the wiring harness could be (mostly likely will be) different and need someone that knows how to wire up a new stereo to an existing installation.


Mine is the Jensen JRV215N.
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 12:22 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 2,005
My Jensen went dark a couple of years ago. I replaced it with another Jensen (JRV9000) just for ease of installation. There is much better units out there but I didn't look around enough before my purchase. I still had to rewire the main plug from the 215. Nowadays I would definitely buy a unit with Android Auto to replace the crappy navigation of the Jensen.
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 12:34 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 79
Do not buy Jenson for navigation. Mine will just not be accessible. Press the Navigation button and nothing happens. Then a few weeks later it works. I use my portable Garmin for GPS. Much better and I can place it so I can see it.
__________________
2018 Jayco Redhawk 22J
201822j is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 02:46 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by 201822j View Post
Do not buy Jenson for navigation. I use my portable Garmin for GPS. Much better and I can place it so I can see it.
X2
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 03:22 PM   #6
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,906
Garmin is standard with Kenwood head units. I replaced the POS that was in the dash with a Kenwood that had the setup for the three camera. You really do not need GPS if the new head unit has Apple or Google Play. You can use your phone.



you may want to have a professional shop do the install as the dash of the Greyhawk is a major pain to get off and back on plus Jayco does a very poor job of wiring which means there is a mess of wires behind the head unit. There is also a "switch" behind the radio that handles the switching of cameras. That has to be wired into the new unit. Not difficult.



BTW. I would not buy Jensen and I have had most all of them in one vehicle or another.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2022, 03:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post


you may want to have a professional shop do the install as the dash of the Greyhawk is a major pain to get off and back on plus Jayco does a very poor job of wiring which means there is a mess of wires behind the head unit. There is also a "switch" behind the radio that handles the switching of cameras. That has to be wired into the new unit. Not difficult
I managed to replace my 215 without pulling the dash completely. I just bent it back far enough to install the new head unit. When I pulled it back I was just hoping it didn't break.

You also have to be aware that you need to disconnect two power sources. One from the chassis and one from house. Otherwise you might end up doing what I did and that was blowing the diode circuit for auto power switching. I discovered it was blown, tried to source the Ford part and had no luck. Ended up hard wiring it to the house.
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2022, 03:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,380
Bottom line: I've done stereo systems before, when I was younger, slimmer and could contort myself more. But, if/when our Jensen dies, I'm probably going to farm out the install.


About 2x a year, I head out to Crutchfield and the like and survey what the options are for Double DIN headunits.
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2022, 06:34 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
SloPoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Kingman AZ and where our Seneca is today.
Posts: 2,917
Here are a couple of prior discussions about the JRV215n... More different perspectives / insight.

https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f...oot-78687.html

https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f...ent-56136.html
__________________
Steve & Stacy with Jasper (shepherd)
2015 Seneca 36FK

Custom 27' flatbed trailer hauling our:
07 Toyota FJC & Yamaha Kodiak 400 ATV

SloPoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2022, 09:42 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2022
Location: Dallas
Posts: 16
Depending on your lifestyle, replacing with a unit that only has GPS that is based on pairing with your cell phone may not be a good idea - we spend a lot of time in areas with little to no cell signal, so pairing to our phones would be useless.

I'm in the same boat but for different reasons and am in the process of researching the options. Good luck!
Mjliss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2022, 09:56 AM   #11
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 2,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mjliss View Post
Depending on your lifestyle, replacing with a unit that only has GPS that is based on pairing with your cell phone may not be a good idea - we spend a lot of time in areas with little to no cell signal, so pairing to our phones would be useless.

I'm in the same boat but for different reasons and am in the process of researching the options. Good luck!

So do we, and have both but then we are not driving around the back country with the RV as much as with the Jeep and the cell phone GPS continues to work. It is phone service/radio service that goes away. Additionally I use OnXMaps on the cell and download the maps to the phone.



The solution to back country and cell I have found, when you are parked, is Starlink.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2022, 11:31 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 2,005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mjliss View Post
...we spend a lot of time in areas with little to no cell signal, so pairing to our phones would be useless.
Android Auto doesn't need a cell signal for navigation. Maps can be downloaded to the phone for frequently used routes or areas where you may not have a cell signal.
__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2022, 12:51 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: chelsea
Posts: 52
When my 2015 greyhawk was a year old jayco sent me a 9000 and it was heads and shoulders better than the original
greyhawktom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2022, 06:03 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2020
Location: Wandering the Country
Posts: 123
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gina714 View Post
Hi Jayco friends
I'm a newbie full time in my 2015 Greyhawk recently my radio/camera quit working and now going to order new radio to have installed just wondering if I should order same radio or is there one that has the new updates to the maps that will be compatible?

Thank you
The thread is a little old, but I thought I'd ask: did you ever pull out the old radio and check the fuse behind the radio? Have you bought a replacement radio, if so, what did you buy?
Mikec557 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2022, 11:16 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: chelsea
Posts: 52
I didn’t do the work, the rv place did it under warranty.
I was just saying the jct 9000 worked well for me.
greyhawktom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.