Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-06-2013, 04:47 PM   #1

kwikee steps stopped working

Greyhawk 06- just brought it home. Steps worked when we viewed it to buy from private owner. Jayco has sat for a while not in use but batteries were charged. After we got home steps stopped working. Same day the battery went really low while we were in it cleaning. Plugged in everything brighter. But steps not working. Yes, light is on under steps.

thanks in advance.
y5

y5raleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2013, 05:45 AM   #2

y5raleigh,

Welcome to the JOF and the Jayco family! Your house battery issue sounds really common. It sounds like the house battery has discharged past the point of no return. You'll probably wind up replacing it. I'm no expert but, there are several experts who frequent these forums that can assist you. Expect "Ole RoyBraddy" (just funnin with you Roy!) to be very helpful.

As far as your kwikee step issue have you checked the electric step switch by the door to see if it's in the OFF position. If off flip it to on and see if that corrects the issue. If I understand it correctly, the steps function off the cranking battery. If that's right, I don't see that the two issues you are having are related.

Hope to see you round the campfire!

Old 06-07-2013, 12:18 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by y5raleigh View Post
Greyhawk 06- just brought it home. Steps worked when we viewed it to buy from private owner. Jayco has sat for a while not in use but batteries were charged. After we got home steps stopped working. Same day the battery went really low while we were in it cleaning. Plugged in everything brighter. But steps not working. Yes, light is on under steps.

thanks in advance.
y5
I have an 05.
Open the battery compartment. Check the battery water level. If it's low, fill with distilled. The Jayco charger will cook batteries if left plugged in for a long period of time. Filling the battery may or may not bring it back to life if it was low.