Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-12-2019, 09:57 AM   #1
75H

Lithium Battery Class C

I want to replace the single Group 27 house battery in our 29MVP with a 100w Lithium (LiFePO4).

Reasons: smaller & lighter, 2x power, maintenance free, time to replace lead acid battery.

Also, despite having a GoPower 100w flex, we get a "LoBatt" on the fridge a few hours into prepping for a trip.

Dealer says lithium replacement is a drop in & go, however suggests installing an on/off toggle between the solar panel & controller for use when plugged into shore power. I do not want to make any other mods.

My question - any Class C owners out there with experience just replacing the single lead acid battery w/lithium and no other mods? Does it fully charge? Any other issues? Comments? Thanks.
75H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:13 AM   #2

I'm no expert but lithium has a different charge profile than what came with your rig so I would think your charger needs to have that profile. With that said I don't think it will be "drop and go" but the swap is doable.
2016 Ford Focus set up to flat tow
Pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 10:54 AM   #3
75H

Thanks Pfflyer, I'm a bit surprised the solar controller doesn't have an "off" selection, and a toggle is something I'd like to install anyway.

From what I've read, a lithium battery would only charge to 80% with current vehicle alternator/shore set up. However, if "80%" is still better than the lead acid battery and causes no harm, I'd like to convert.

This is not a situation where I'm trying to run the a/c, microwave, or live off a bank of lithium batteries, so I don't want to mess with existing hardware.