Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-14-2022, 05:18 PM   #1

Melbourne kitchen drawers

2020 Melbourne 24L. The two kitchen drawers located under the cook top have shaken loose. I took them both completely out and saw that they are both connected to a common “skeleton” frame. That frame was only held up by two small wood screws that were supposed to anchor into the plywood wall. Those small screws barely went in 1/4 inch! For reference, I only had very lightweight plastic dinnerware and utensils in the drawers. I’ve been RVing for many years and know enough to keep the weight as low as possible. So I know it wasn’t excessive weight that stressed the frame. Has anybody else run into this problem? The call to Jayco Customer Service didn’t yield any help. They were supposed to send a build schematic but never did. I have to remount this frame somehow but I can’t use deep screws that could potentially pierce the outside skin from the inside.
Mellonracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2022, 07:40 PM   #2

I would hope there would be some space for framing or insulation before a screw would hit the outer skin. Can you glue and screw?
2016 Ford Focus set up to flat tow
Pfflyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2022, 09:14 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pfflyer View Post
I would hope there would be some space for framing or insulation before a screw would hit the outer skin. Can you glue and screw?