Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-11-2019, 03:08 PM   #1

NC Quick Pass Transponder - EZ Pass

I am new to the concept of tolls, coming from a Western state rural area. We are taking a family trip from Washington State to New York, then South to various Eastern states before ending up in Branson MO, and finally back to our home in Washington.

I read the threads here and on other sites, but the various accounts seem to sometimes disagree. So I called and talked to the folks in NC Quick Pass (seems to be the most reasonably priced system), but want to match that info up with your experience here.

1. The lady said I would have one account, but register both my Greyhawk and my Jeep. She said I would receive a transponder ($7.49) and an EZ Pass card (?).
2. She said while towing the jeep, I would put the transponder in my front windshield of the motorhome(she wasn't concerned about the overhang on the Class C) or on the dash.
3. She suggested not having the EZ Pass card in the MH or the jeep as I may get double charged (she even suggested just tossing it).
4. She said when the MH was parked, I could just move the transponder from the MH to the jeep.

Does this agree with the collective wisdom of this group that actually lives in the states with EZ Pass???
jd99336 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2019, 03:21 PM   #2

Not sure about NC, but I traveled, IL, IN, OH, PA, NY, WV, FL on the toll roads with only the moveable transponder in the MH and never had an issue. The toll scanners also count axles and that is how you are charged. Same applies with a trailer or FW. And yes just put it in the TOAD if we were traveling around and back on toll roads.

Just remember if your going to FL that the EZ PASS is NOT accepted on the FL Turnpike only the other toll roads.
Old 04-11-2019, 03:37 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post