Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-21-2016, 10:47 AM   #1

New Seneca Owner with Questions

Hello All,

First of all I wanted to thank everyone in this forum. It is an outstanding source of information and was exceptionally useful in making my decision to purchase a Jayco Seneca.

To apologize up front, I am a complete Newbie. I have never owned, lived in, used an RV before, and our Seneca is our first attempt at taking part of the RV lifestyle. So I am sorry if some of my questions seem absurd, or basic, I just really have no idea what I am doing, and am hoping to find some help here.

I am trying to figure out a few things with my Seneca. I picked up a "new" 2015 37FS from Orlando RV on Friday. Never owned, but it did have 1,500 miles on it when we drove off the lot. We will primarily be using it on weekends to go racing. I have 32' box trailer I will be towing with my car, and other toys inside. I settled on the Seneca when more purpose built towing RVs were just WAY outside of our price range. For the most part we will be dry camping, living off the generator, without any sort of hookups.

On my trip home to MD, I had a couple issues.
1. At both campsites we stayed at, the Bigfoot Leveling system timed out (left and right amber lights flashing with the "foot" in the middle flashing as well). It worked perfect on the lot before we left, but never got it to work afterwards. I had the slides retracted. Engine off, as per dealer instructions. Am I doing something wrong here?