Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-10-2011, 08:19 PM   #1

Newbie Car Towing questions

I'm new to Class C's having just purchased a 2006 Jayco Granite Ridge 2900GS. All my previous experience has been with tent campers and fifth wheels, so towing a vehicle is totally new to me.

I have a 2000 Mazda Protege which I would like to tow with the motorhome. Am I correct in assuming that this can be towed with a dolly (front wheels off the ground) since it is front wheel drive vehicle?

Is there anything else that needs to be done to take care of the towed vehicle besides putting the wheels up on the dolly and attaching some magnetic trailer lights?

Any help appreciated - thanks.

Joe
cdrcos@gmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2011, 05:53 PM   #2

You may want to consider a " bra" if the nose of the car has not be abused in the pasy.
Old 12-29-2011, 11:43 AM   #3

Send a message via MSN to jloving
What did you end up doing?

Hi Joe,

What did you end up doing? I am a new Greyhawk owner this past year and want to start towing next spring. We have a small 2 wheel drive spyder to tow and was thinking of a dolly as well.

Did you go that way and if so, how did it go?

Thanks,

Jim
Old 12-29-2011, 01:29 PM   #4

Jim,
As i am not familiar with your spyder - is it front wheel drive? if so you should be able to do the same - load her up - lash her down - get camping. Magnetic lights work well (i used them last year). My Fusion tows great behind my Greyhawk.
2014 Jeep Grand Cherokee
Gma-n-Gpa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2011, 07:47 AM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by jloving View Post
Hi Joe,

What did you end up doing? I am a new Greyhawk owner this past year and want to start towing next spring. We have a small 2 wheel drive spyder to tow and was thinking of a dolly as well.

Did you go that way and if so, how did it go?