Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-29-2020, 02:29 AM   #1

Question about tank heaters

Hi,

This is my first year which an RV. I have a RedHawk SE 27N. I have a question about the tank heaters. Currently my black and gray tanks are empty, fresh and the lines are full. We are having an over night freeze coming up, temps below 31. I am assuming it is fine to use the tank heaters over night with the two tanks empty? We have one last trip the first weekend of November or I would just winterize it.

Thanks!
Mabenha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 05:27 AM   #2

they say you should not turn the heaters on for empty tanks only tanks with water in them

Traded: 2018 RAM 3500 DRW, 4X4, 4.10, 6.4 Hemi, Curt A20 hitch, Tire Minder

2018 North Point 315rlts with most of the options.
JohnWedell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 06:48 AM   #3

We've had our rig for 4 years and never once turned on the tank heater. They are useless.

GeorgiaRV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2020, 07:42 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mabenha View Post
Hi,

This is my first year which an RV. I have a RedHawk SE 27N. I have a question about the tank heaters. Currently my black and gray tanks are empty, fresh and the lines are full. We are having an over night freeze coming up, temps below 31. I am assuming it is fine to use the tank heaters over night with the two tanks empty? We have one last trip the first weekend of November or I would just winterize it.

Thanks!
If your talking about the over night lows reaching about 30, you do not need to turn them on. There is a lot of thermal mass to cool off.

We were out boondock camping with overnight lows two weeks ago down to 22 degrees. No issues with the tanks freezing.

Added Thought;