Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2019, 08:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: St George
Posts: 3
Exclamation Random power lose to chasis - HELP

Need some advice:
Just started up our C Class Greyhawk 31fsp for the season.

We were plugged into shore power all night, then randomly everything shut off. All lights, fridge, heater, etc. The outlets still work but thats it. I started the engine to cycle the power and then i could start the generator. Everything came back on for 5 mins THEN it all shut back off again!?!?!


Seems like if i run the cab engine and generator at the same time everything stays on.



Any ideas what could be causing the power to shut down like this. Dont think its an overload, or a breaker. Maybe a relay or the CO2 detector???


HELP???
sendtojeffw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 09:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Manchester Center
Posts: 1,520
Sounds like the battery disconnect solenoid. Perhaps a loose wire. The vibration of the generator or Engine wiggled it.

At first I thought you auto transfer switch bu since you have 110 that would not be it.

Possible ground wire issues but again doubt that would be everything. Unless it is the ground going on battery and it is loose.

Good luck and post solution.
RVermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 09:53 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: St George
Posts: 3
I would think that too but it happens when i am on shore power too.



Seems the only solution is to have the truck engine running.
sendtojeffw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 10:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Manchester Center
Posts: 1,520
it sound like a converter issue.

first test you house battery, i think the converter failed and your batteries are dead.. by starting the truck the battery isolation module senses that the house batteries are low and the modules sends power to the batteries. this unit senses the differences in voltage and if it senses the power is low (11.8) approx. on the house batteries but you only have 12.69approx) on you coach it will not allow the connection when you start the chassis you will be getting 13.5-14.2 amps and the power will flow

check the converter circuit breaker. then you have to check the fuses on the converter

i will see if i can find a schematic which should be similar to your unit at least conceptually
RVermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 11:13 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: St George
Posts: 3
thanks

I will check my converter fuses.



Seems to make sense if my batteries are fried that it might shut down the whole house power regardless of being connected to shore power or generator


Rig came off the Jayco production line 11 months ago. This is the latest in a long list of issues.
sendtojeffw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 11:54 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Manchester Center
Posts: 1,520
If the converter is working and you had battery and battery wire issues you would still have 12v as the converter could handle some of the power requirements but it probably would fault if too much draw. Furnace lights possibly water heater and water Pump all on Might cause over amp and blow fuse.
RVermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2019, 03:53 PM   #7
Site Team
 
Mustang65's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Clearwater, FL area
Posts: 5,196
As mentioned check your battery voltages (when not connected to the RV).

Do you have a 12 Volt circuit breaker in the circuit? That may be tripping.
Don
My Registry

RVing with SOLAR
__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 284BHS
2012 Ford F150XLT, EcoBoost w/3.73,Max Tow Pkg.
Our Solar Album https://www.jaycoowners.com/album.php?albumid=329
Mustang65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 11:14 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Minot
Posts: 21
I had a loose ground that acted like that. Dealer fixed it but not sure where it was but sounded like it was somewhere on the chassis frame.
Nytebyte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2019, 12:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Manchester Center
Posts: 1,520
Here is the best document that I have found for helping to trace issues on the Seneca. i would expect the greyhawk to be similar
Attached Thumbnails
seneca chassis electric.jpg  
RVermont is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
c class, power, power lose, shut off

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.