Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2022, 08:46 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Warrenton
Posts: 4
Question Receptacles not working

Thank you for welcoming us to your group. We have only owned our Jayco for about three months. I found you while looking for the breaker in my 2016 Jayco Greyhawk. The manual said it was on a cabinet face in the main living area. Thanks to you, I found it is located on the bottom of the bed. I now have another question. Both receptacles for our TVís are not working. (They did when we first got it) We have a TV in the bedroom and one in the forward bunk. Both are very high in the camper. We checked every fuse and breaker and nothing is blown. All other receptacles are in working order. It is just those two. Anyone have any ideas? I hope I am posting this in an appropriate spot. If not, I apologize.
SanDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 09:15 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 13,211
Either the Inverter or the transfer switch for the Inverter. Some Inverters have a transfer switch built in and other rigs have a separate transfer switch for the Inverter circuit.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 09:31 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Warrenton
Posts: 4
I will check that out. Thank you
SanDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2022, 02:30 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,356
What model 2016 do you have? If it's a 31FK I can probably assist,
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 07:17 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Warrenton
Posts: 4
It is a 2016 Jayco Greyhawk 29MV
SanDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2022, 08:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Daniel3359's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Dallas
Posts: 124
We have the same model and am going to assume you are at a campground. Have you checked that you're actually getting power from the campground electrical box? You may have to flip on the button there or reset. I suspect that you may be running on batteries which is why some plugs are working and others are not
Daniel3359 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 09:55 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Warrenton
Posts: 4
We are actually at home now. There is power coming in. Everything else is working except for those two receptacles. I am not familiar with the inverter or the transfer switch. Would they be the cause for just two receptacles and where do I find them?
SanDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 01:39 PM   #8
Member
 
salukee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Metropolis
Posts: 48
Mine is under the master bed. I have to remove small sheet of plywood that the mattress rests on. My unit is a 2020 27U. Pic of transfer switch and inverter attached.
Attached Thumbnails
Under Bed Overview Shot 2.jpg   AC Transfer Switch for Inverter Power.jpg  
__________________
2020 Greyhawk 27U
2020 F150
salukee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2022, 06:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 3,356
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDee View Post
We are actually at home now. There is power coming in. Everything else is working except for those two receptacles. I am not familiar with the inverter or the transfer switch. Would they be the cause for just two receptacles and where do I find them?



If it's ONLY those two receptacles, then I'm going with the Inverter. Me thinks if the transfer switch was bad, you'd lose all AC power to the house.


Your inverter is very likely a Xantrex 1000. It's going to look >>something like<< this one: https://xantrex.com/products/discont...ts/pro-series/


Mine's under my bed in The Jayco Rats Nest of Wiring.


Since you've lost power to ONLY the TVs, I'm thinking it's the inverter. In my 31FK, I have two TVs too, but the inverter only powers the living room TV. Make sure your inverter is on at the remote control panel.
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2022, 05:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 304
Outlets out

Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDee View Post
We are actually at home now. There is power coming in. Everything else is working except for those two receptacles. I am not familiar with the inverter or the transfer switch. Would they be the cause for just two receptacles and where do I find them?
I just developed the same problem. No power to the inverter outlets. Whatever the cause it knocked out my GFI as well. Replaced the GFI and have 120 back in coach outlets.but not on the inverter outlets Strange thing though, the outlets work off the inverter only but when the inverter is off no120. So how did you fix your problem? Inverter or transfer switch?
rodpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2022, 05:26 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
dvspl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Shrewsbury
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodpod View Post
I just developed the same problem. No power to the inverter outlets. Whatever the cause it knocked out my GFI as well. Replaced the GFI and have 120 back in coach outlets.but not on the inverter outlets Strange thing though, the outlets work off the inverter only but when the inverter is off no120. So how did you fix your problem? Inverter or transfer switch?
Not sure how yours is wired, but my 2020 29MV has a transfer switch for the inverter that is separate from the main transfer switch. Some inverters transfer internally and some have an external transfer switch. Follow the output wiring from your inverter and see if it leads to another transfer switch. That or the inverter itself could be the problem.
__________________
retired USCG aviator
2020 Jayco Greyhawk 29MV/2021 MINI Cooper toad
dvspl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2022, 06:25 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvspl View Post
Not sure how yours is wired, but my 2020 29MV has a transfer switch for the inverter that is separate from the main transfer switch. Some inverters transfer internally and some have an external transfer switch. Follow the output wiring from your inverter and see if it leads to another transfer switch. That or the inverter itself could be the problem.
I have a 2018 29 MV wire same as yours. What was the fix? I don’t want to change the inverter if it is the transfer switch
rodpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2022, 06:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
dvspl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Shrewsbury
Posts: 201
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodpod View Post
I have a 2018 29 MV wire same as yours. What was the fix? I donít want to change the inverter if it is the transfer switch
If you get power when the inverter is on, then the inverter is working. With shore power (or generator), check for 115V power to the input side of the inverter transfer switch. If you have power to the input but nothing at the output, then the transfer switch has failed and will need to be replaced. For more info and wiring diagrams, here's a link to transfer switch manual: https://www.magnum-dimensions.com/si...W-TS15-Web.pdf
__________________
retired USCG aviator
2020 Jayco Greyhawk 29MV/2021 MINI Cooper toad
dvspl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2022, 06:55 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Miami
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvspl View Post
If you get power when the inverter is on, then the inverter is working. With shore power (or generator), check for 115V power to the input side of the inverter transfer switch. If you have power to the input but nothing at the output, then the transfer switch has failed and will need to be replaced. For more info and wiring diagrams, here's a link to transfer switch manual: https://www.magnum-dimensions.com/si...W-TS15-Web.pdf
Thanks so much. The diagrams are very useful
rodpod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2022, 12:38 PM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2021
Location: State of Franklin
Posts: 6
Not sure about newer Jayco's but 1999 has GFI outlets in some very strange places. Worse the button that pops up is easy to miss since it doesn't have a red ring exposed so in low light levels it is easy to miss. I lost two outlets on our last trip and couldn't find anything wrong. Waited till we got home and started digging and found both were fed from one GFI outlet that had popped. I painted the edges of the poppet button with a red marker so next time I might find it. In trying to track down the problem I found another GFI outlet under the bed that I didn't even know was there that they plugged some things into that I thought were hard wired.
JebTN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.