Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-03-2015, 07:14 PM   #1

Redhawk 26XD

Hi---newbie here

We are looking at a Redhawk 26XD. Our concern would be in the area of
handling. Its a pretty short wheel base for the length of the coach. I have
noticed that Jayco has added the "JRide" system of heavier springs and certain rubber cushion mounts. Does this help the handling and how id the overall handling.
Also any other thoughts about quality and other.

Thanks
Ernie H
coastalstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 09:21 AM   #2

We down sized from a class A to the 26xd. I installed the super steer on the "A", and installed on the 26. It handles like a charm. Some others say you need to increase the tension on the "Jride". I did not because it did not bottom out going down the road. The more tension will make for a more harder ride.
bigdaddyhd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2015, 09:38 AM   #3

Redhawk 26XD

Thanks for the reply. How did it handle before you installed the steering helper?
The one I am looking at has the Hellwig springs, cushioning dampers. It does not have the upgraded shocks or sway bar.

Thanks
Ernie H
Old 09-04-2015, 12:27 PM   #4

Let correct my last. I installed the rear track bar right after a few break in miles. As I stated, I installed one on our class a. Before the 26 had some tail wagging the dog and I knew that the rear track bar would correct the problem. No matter what you do, you will still have some tail wagging the dog, but a great improvement with the track bar. Mine came with front and rear sway bars. As far as I know, it does not have the up grade shocks. (some people call the track bar a "pan hard"). I do not plan to make any more improvements for handling. I am very pleased with the way it handles now. BTW, I thought the sway bars were standard equipment on the Ford E450 2015