Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 06-14-2024, 06:17 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
Reset Inverter

Ho can I reset the inverter on a Class C Jayco 2017
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 06:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
Ho can I reset the inverter on a Class C Jayco 2017
How do you know it needs a reset? What problem are you having?
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 06:37 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
JimD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Inland Empire, California
Posts: 2,088
If you have a Greyhawk, remove the wood cover under your mattress. This allows access to the rats nest of wiring. At the left rear will be the Magnum inverter. There will be a power cord plugged into an outlet on the inverter. This is a GFCI outlet that has a reset button in the middle. Push this button in to reset it.

I have tripped mine a few times simply by having the inverter on when I fired up the generator or plugged in to power. Doesn't happen every time, just when it feels like it. The symptom will be that you can hear it beep when you press the remote switch but no power appears at the TV outlets.

You may need to have 120 volts present for the button to reset so fire up the inverter and then press the button. If it clicks, you should be good to go.
Attached Thumbnails
Under Bed Wiring 2.jpg   Inverter.JPG   Inverter 2.jpg   Inverter 3.jpg  
__________________


Jim

Retired electronic technician (45 years in the field)
2017 Greyhawk 29W (solar & many other mods)
wife (maybe I should have given her top billing)
JimD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 06:40 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimD View Post
If you have a Greyhawk, remove the wood cover under your mattress. This allows access to the rats nest of wiring. At the left rear will be the Magnum inverter. There will be a power cord plugged into an outlet on the inverter. This is a GFCI outlet that has a reset button in the middle. Push this button in to reset it.
Interesting. I thought they always removed that feature when they added the remote switch. Learn something new everyday..
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 06:41 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
Inverter

Getting an E05 error on Inverter how can I reset?

Class C Jayco
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 07:00 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
Getting an E05 error on Inverter how can I reset?

Class C Jayco
That could mean a low battery or you're trying to put too large a load on the circuit.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 07:39 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
There was a storm and I was away from the RV. I think that is what did it. It is beeping and it also is not under the bed.
Attached Thumbnails
20240614_200422.jpg  
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 07:42 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
There was a storm and I was away from the RV. I think that is what did it. It is beeping and it also is not under the bed.
If you post the year and which model you may get a better response since things change from model to model and year to year.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 08:08 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
I did on my first post....
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2024, 08:21 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 16,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
I did on my first post....
Redhawk, Greyhawk, Melbourne are all "C"s. and on the XANTREX an E05 means an overload or short
Attached Thumbnails
xantrex.png  
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2024, 10:47 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
It was a bad storm..I did unplug the shore connection and replug..still the inverter continues to beep...any suggestions on further maintenance?
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2024, 11:05 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
If low battery how do I recharge?
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2024, 03:05 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,395
E05 on mine would be cleared by turning the inverter off and on at that panel. The lil' grey button.

If it is still beeping when plugged into shore power, then I'm thinking something else might be wrong.

Your house battery should be getting charged when you're plugged in.

What does the voltage show on the inverter display?
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2024, 03:53 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
There is nothing on the inverter to tell the voltage.
Generally, I have been able to reset by turning off the inverter unplugging shore power, than plugging back in and turning inverter back...
I do it so little..does that sound correct?

That being said, it is still beeping so I have turned the inverter off until I can figure this out..
Thanks for the help....
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2024, 11:49 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
There is nothing on the inverter to tell the voltage.
Generally, I have been able to reset by turning off the inverter unplugging shore power, than plugging back in and turning inverter back...
I do it so little..does that sound correct?

That being said, it is still beeping so I have turned the inverter off until I can figure this out..
Thanks for the help....
Sorry for delay. You don't have a little panel / display like this one in mine?
The same place you see the E05 error.

I pulled up the XM1000 manual and looked for the hard-reset procedure that I recalled reading somewhere -- and I didn't find it.

What someone else posted, they called a "hard reboot" and it reads like it's quite invasive: disconnect shore power, disconnect all batteries (or pull the +/- wires off the inverter) and let it sit for a loooooooooong time - like overnight.

This procedure could be for another Xantrex model.
If you don't have the manual for yours, download it and see if you can find anything useful.

The E05 on the XM1000 can be caused by an overload or a short circuit.
Do you know what outlet(s) are powered by the inverter?
Attached Thumbnails
inverter.png  
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 08:31 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimD View Post
If you have a Greyhawk, remove the wood cover under your mattress. This allows access to the rats nest of wiring. At the left rear will be the Magnum inverter. There will be a power cord plugged into an outlet on the inverter. This is a GFCI outlet that has a reset button in the middle. Push this button in to reset it.

I have tripped mine a few times simply by having the inverter on when I fired up the generator or plugged in to power. Doesn't happen every time, just when it feels like it. The symptom will be that you can hear it beep when you press the remote switch but no power appears at the TV outlets.

You may need to have 120 volts present for the button to reset so fire up the inverter and then press the button. If it clicks, you should be good to go.



So your looks a bit different than mine although yes it is under the mattress. I have felt around but have not felt a rest button.
Attached Thumbnails
20240617_073036.jpg  
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 02:06 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
Getting an E05 error on Inverter how can I reset?

Class C Jayco
Colleen - where are you seeing the E05 error?

Jim has a "Magnum" brand inverter. You don't. You and I have a Xantrex Pro inverter. His reset button doesn't exist on ours.
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 06:42 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by pconroy View Post
Sorry for delay. You don't have a little panel / display like this one in mine?
The same place you see the E05 error.

I pulled up the XM1000 manual and looked for the hard-reset procedure that I recalled reading somewhere -- and I didn't find it.

What someone else posted, they called a "hard reboot" and it reads like it's quite invasive: disconnect shore power, disconnect all batteries (or pull the +/- wires off the inverter) and let it sit for a loooooooooong time - like overnight.

This procedure could be for another Xantrex model.
If you don't have the manual for yours, download it and see if you can find anything useful.


The outlet that is not working is the one in the bedroom next to the TV monitor. It is not working all others seem fine. You


The E05 on the XM1000 can be caused by an overload or a short circuit.
Do you know what outlet(s) are powered by the inverter?

The outlet that is not working is the one in the bedroom next to the TV monitor. It is not working all others seem fine. Your Inverter picture looks like the one I have.
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2024, 06:44 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Victor
Posts: 78
The error is on the panel and in the past all I had to do was unplug from shore power and then replug...it is not working this time.
Colleenj51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2024, 08:20 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Denver
Posts: 4,395
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
There is nothing on the inverter to tell the voltage.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colleenj51 View Post
The error is on the panel
Ok - on that same panel, where you saw the E05, that should also display a voltage.

All of the time. Whether you're plugged in, or have the generator running -- or not-plugged-in/n-generator and you're on battery power. That display should always display a voltage value.

Make sure Master Power switch is on.

Press the Green button to turn the inverter on.
Then you look at the Status LED.

Status Green - means you're plugged in OR running the generator. You should see a Voltage of 13.2V or higher.

Status Yellow - means you're on battery power and your voltage will be 12ish or better.

You may already know all of this, but I'm laying it out this way since you said there was NO voltage on the inverter/display. There should be.

If you've turned the inverter on (Green Button) and the Master Power switch is on and there's STILL NO Voltage displayed, then I'm worried the inverter might be dead.
__________________
2016 Greyhawk 31FK
pconroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.