Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-09-2020, 04:04 PM   #1

RV will not accept ground power

Newbie here...tried the search feature & FAQ with no luck!

New to me, 2006 Seneca 35zx toyhauler. Unit will not accept ground power. Confirmed ground power is working (240v). Having trouble locating a wiring diagram to determine if there is a breaker or fuse that would be inline to control ground power.

Any help would be appriciated.

Thanks,

Mike
MBlair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 04:19 PM   #2

Are you at a campground plugged into their 50-amp outlet?

Have you checked the main breakers in your power center?
Toads: 2019 Ford Edge ST or 2013 Ford Focus ST
Robbbyr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2020, 04:23 PM   #3

A 50-amp 4-prong RV outlet will have 220-volts hot to hot, but RV's use the two legs separately since all appliances are 120-volt such as the air conditioner(s), microwave, TVs, the electric side of the water heater (if applicable) and the power converter.

If you have just a three-prong outlet and measure 220-volts it is NOT wired correctly for an RV. That is for a welder and will damage an RV. An RV 30-amp 3 prong outlet is only 120-volts.
Old 06-09-2020, 04:29 PM   #4

Does the unit power up from the onboard generator (if so equipped)?
Old 06-09-2020, 05:40 PM   #5

Have you located your electrical panel/converter? Is the main breaker on? Are any of the breakers on? Do you own a meter and have you checked for 240v hot to hot and 120v hot to neutral at the line side lugs in the panel?
Vicr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2020, 03:53 AM   #6

It does power up from the generator.
Old 06-10-2020, 03:56 AM   #7

We have not been able to locate a breaker panel...but have been told it may be under the pantry on our zx. Will be able to check later this morning.