Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-02-2020, 04:01 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Pueblo West
Posts: 4
Satellite Hook up

I have a 2018 29 MVP Jayco and I'm looking for anyone who can help hook up my satellite dish. The dish is a King One Pro and sits outside on the ground. I figured out how to get the outside antenna hookup to the main tv but I also want to hook up the outside tv as well. Any ideas? I looked at the wiring below and it is all sealed so I don't think I can run a new cable. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Crich
__________________

crich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 08:44 AM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Location: Kingman
Posts: 21
I have a 2019 29MVP and I contacted Jayco. They will send you a diagram on how to connect the TV wiring for satellite. The diagrams also show various ways to hook up the TV's.
__________________

wmurphy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-2020, 01:52 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Big1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Lakewood, WA.
Posts: 2,348
There should be a sat hook up on the opposition side of your cargo compartment where you hook up the water holes, you will need to put it in there.
__________________
2018 Dodge Ram 3500 6.7L CTD
2019 Jayco Eagle 321RSTS 5th Wheel
Retired Army MSG
Big1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2020, 10:43 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by crich View Post
I have a 2018 29 MVP Jayco and I'm looking for anyone who can help hook up my satellite dish. The dish is a King One Pro and sits outside on the ground. I figured out how to get the outside antenna hookup to the main tv but I also want to hook up the outside tv as well. Any ideas? I looked at the wiring below and it is all sealed so I don't think I can run a new cable. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Crich
How did you get the outside dish hookup to the main tv. I have a 2019mv and can't figure out how to do it outside of running the cable through the window.
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 09:11 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Pueblo West
Posts: 4
I had to remove the switch plate that has the antenna booster switch. Look on the back of the plate and there are 3 tv coaxes. The center one goes to the outside antenna port for hookup where your electrical cord is located. You will need to purchase a connector to connect another coax to that cable and then just run it to your satellite receiver. I snaked my through the opening so it comes out with the other coax to the TV. Hope that helps, if not I have a wiring diagram I can send you.
crich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 10:53 AM   #6
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 602
https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/d...?do=file&id=91

This above is in the Manuals section at the top of the page. The info is what Jayco sent me when I asked the same question.

From what I can tell there are only two ways to get the signal to the outside TV and the bedroom TV and that is either fish a HDMI to each (not my favorite) or use HDMI radio remotes, which is what I have decided to do.

https://www.amazon.com/dp/B071VCK1FG...v_ov_lig_dp_it
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 02:03 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2020
Location: Pueblo West
Posts: 4
I think that's a great idea, I don't like the idea of running cables either.
crich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 03:53 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by crich View Post
I had to remove the switch plate that has the antenna booster switch. Look on the back of the plate and there are 3 tv coaxes. The center one goes to the outside antenna port for hookup where your electrical cord is located. You will need to purchase a connector to connect another coax to that cable and then just run it to your satellite receiver. I snaked my through the opening so it comes out with the other coax to the TV. Hope that helps, if not I have a wiring diagram I can send you.
Kind of get what you are saying. I would appreciate the wiring diagram please and thank you !
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 04:02 PM   #9
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 602
If you look at the information that I posted in #6 all of the diagrams are there, electrical, coax as well as instructions on how to wire the switch for DISH etc.

Everything you need is there except someone to wire it for you.

Open it up and download the info.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 05:33 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
If you look at the information that I posted in #6 all of the diagrams are there, electrical, coax as well as instructions on how to wire the switch for DISH etc.

Everything you need is there except someone to wire it for you.

Open it up and download the info.
Thanks. Trying to make sense of these. I have a masters in chemistry, but throw these diagrams at me and my head starts spinning.

stupid questions #1 : So my satellite tailgater would go into the compartment with the electrical cord. What is the connection for on the passenger side compartment, is that strictly an output to a TV ?
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 05:48 PM   #11
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 602
Yes but it is your input to the TV. (same thing

I am going to go by memory here since my paperwork is in the RV but that line is going to go to the back of the plate with the power button. There are three lines coming in there as I recall. One will be your input. Remove that coax. Then remove one of the two coax from the back of the double Sat plate. Does not matter which one. Connect your TV Input to the back of that at the now open connection. Connect your DISH receiver coax to the front of that connection. HDMI from the receiver to your TV and you should be up and running.

The schematics you have should show you that and which coax of the three is your input from the electrical cabinet outside. By color code.

Sorry I keep adding to this but I am hoping this makes sense.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 08:34 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Let me make sure I understand.

1.It is prewired from the roof for satellite so I am disconnecting 1 of those, either one on the back of the sat plate.

2. The plate with the antenna booster, on the back there are 3 cables going in, I am disconnecting the input, the one that comes from compartment by the electrical cord.

3. The cable I just disconnected I connect to the now available sat plate(since I disconnected 1 of the 2 pre wired roof )

4.I need another RG6 cable from the front of the sat plate to my receiver(HDMI box to tv)

5. If I am at a campground with cable, i move the input from back of sat plate back to the opening behind the antenna booster plate.
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 09:02 PM   #13
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 602
Yes, I think you have it down.

5 I am not sure of because I always hook to the Tailgator but I think that is correct.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2020, 09:16 PM   #14
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Awesome. This is a game changer, thank you !
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 11:49 AM   #15
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
If you look at the information that I posted in #6 all of the diagrams are there, electrical, coax as well as instructions on how to wire the switch for DISH etc.

Everything you need is there except someone to wire it for you.

Open it up and download the info.
Thank you so much, that works. According to the diagrams you linked, the last wiring diagram shows an A/B switch to go between cable/satellite. Knowing the satellite needs power, would this work, it's 3GHz. Any opinions ?

https://www.amazon.com/RCA-DH24SPF-T.../dp/B0018BQR84
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 12:11 PM   #16
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 602
This is what I have in-line. I have not tried it yet but I would think that if you use what you have pictured you would be "splitting" the signal rather than routing it one direction or the other. With this you send the signal down one line or the other but not both.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 02:32 PM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
This is what I have in-line. I have not tried it yet but I would think that if you use what you have pictured you would be "splitting" the signal rather than routing it one direction or the other. With this you send the signal down one line or the other but not both.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B0...?ie=UTF8&psc=1
Sliding it to A or B makes total sense. Is there any concern that it wouldn't work because of the voltage on the satellite cable ?
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 02:55 PM   #18
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 602
Quote:
Originally Posted by DenMig View Post
Sliding it to A or B makes total sense. Is there any concern that it wouldn't work because of the voltage on the satellite cable ?
I actually forgot I put that switch in until you mentioned it. It is not causing any issues with mine so you should be good to go with it.
__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 02:58 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Tolono
Posts: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post
I actually forgot I put that switch in until you mentioned it. It is not causing any issues with mine so you should be good to go with it.
I really appreciate all the help. Going to order this. I am beyond excited that I can now run my Dish into my RV ! Also thumbs up for all the quick responses ! You were extremely helpful, thank you !
DenMig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2020, 03:05 PM   #20
CAG
Senior Member
 
CAG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 602
You are more than welcome. I know how confusing that can get so I am glad that I could help.
__________________

__________________
2018 Jayco Greyhawk 29MVP
2019 Jeep Sahara Unlimited
2011 Cyclone 3010 Toy Hauler- Sold
2014 Chevy Silverado Duramax LML -Sold
CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×