Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-12-2015, 08:01 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Baldwin
Posts: 182
Satellite TV

This may have been asked already but if it has I can't find it.

Our Seneca papers say it is satellite ready. So my question is, do we still need a satellite dish or just a receiver box hooked up to the TV? Someone told us just the receiver box and that was all we needed in an older motorhome we use to own. All we did was take one from our home when we went out, hooked it up and we were good to go with no extra cost. Can we do that with our Seneca or do we need to buy a dish?
__________________

2JayBirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 08:09 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Pawnee, IL
Posts: 289
You need a dish.
__________________

__________________

2016 Eagle 323 LKTS
2009 GMC 1-ton Dually Diesel
djalbrec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 08:14 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Baldwin
Posts: 182
Ok, thanks. But I know for a fact that the old rv did not have a specific dish for Satalite TV like Dish Network or Direct TV. Can't remember what type antenna it had but all we did was hook up our receiver and it worked.
2JayBirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 08:21 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,041
Sat ready means the wiring is in the roof so the dish can be installed without running wires. If you bought a unit off the lot and did not order it possibly the dish is already on the roof since it was an option and many dealers order it on stock unts. The dish that JAYCO provides is pre-set for Direct TV, but there are dip switches in side the dish unit that can be changed so you can use a DISH NETWORK receiver.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:29 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: las vegas
Posts: 61
i use a dish tailgater and hook it up through my cable in ,on outside of motorhome, i use my dish receiver from inside my house in motorhome (no extra charge), i have had sat ready units and they require a dish, the tailgater can be used anywhere even out on your patio at home, i have used this on many trailers and motorhomes, even lend it to my friends, most campgrounds you are seeing more of them everywhere , bought mine at camping world but most rv dealers have them, roughy 300, finds channels automatically
walkingeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 10:00 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Baldwin
Posts: 182
That might be even better. All in for something that works but saves money too. Thanks.
2JayBirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 10:34 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Bobs A Class's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Plainfield, IL
Posts: 158
Walkingeagle

If I get a tailgater hooked up to my cable and get the 211Z receiver, can I get different channels on my three TVs?


Bob
__________________
Me, Mrs., Maggie
and Ted the pup
2015 Precept 31 UL
2015 Equinox, Blue Ox Avanta LX
Bobs A Class is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 01:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: las vegas
Posts: 61
probably not, call dish they will know for sure and they have great customer service, i use my home receiver actually is 2 for one price , i have a vip211k which works fine, again check with dish and find out which units work on the tailgater, keep warm, not sorry i moved from illinois 20 years ago
walkingeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 03:59 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bobs C Class View Post
If I get a tailgater hooked up to my cable and get the 211Z receiver, can I get different channels on my three TVs?


Bob
No, the 211Z is a single tuner receiver. Additionally, it is only HDMI and Composite output, there's no RF to feed to other TV's.
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2015, 08:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Baldwin
Posts: 182
Well talked to my husband again last night about this. Turns out our Seneca is not just Satellite Ready, it already has an In-Motion Satallite Dish installed on the roof. So looks like all we need to do is use a receiver from our home and we are set to go. Will be taking it to our dealer to gave a few things taken care of so will verify this with them while there. Thanks everyone for your advise.
__________________

2JayBirds is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.